Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by seansmomo
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2015
I made this for dinner and it turned out ok. It needed more flavor and I think next time I make this I will add more chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seansmomo

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
Excellent! Tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
I make this for my family several times a year and we love it. I do make a couple of changes. I double the amount of chicken. I use cubanelle or anaheim peppers instead of banana when I can find them. And most importantly, I add one cubed zucchini and one cubed yellow summer squash. The extra veggies make it even better tasting and gives us a few more veggies in our diet. Sometimes I also use store bought chips instead of making my own, but I do prefer the ones I make as described in the recipe. I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jason Randermann

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2015
My family & friends love this soup & request it often....and it's so easy! I use a 4 oz can of green chiles instead of bell peppers & when it's all done and in individual bowls I top it with shredded cheese, sour cream & sliced avacado! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Thompson Clasey
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Oh my!! I think this is a new favorite of mine!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
Chicken turned out really dry. The flavor is ok, won't make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
I loved the soup with the few twists: Used crushed tomatos as a substitute, added roasted green chiles (about 3/4 cup), a lot more spice--Mrs Dash's Southwest Chipotle, chili powder, a lot more garlic, omited salt, Chipotle seasoning plain, crushed red pepper (a lot)--basically had fun with the spices. I only used broth and added what I wanted to get the right consistency for us. Great recipe!!! Thank you!!! Sunny
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I added about a cup of red beans & also used diced tomatoes. Healthier substitute: whole wheat tortillas vs corn tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I tried the recipe exactly as it said with two exceptions. Instead of using water, I used all low-sodium chicken broth and instead of banana peppers I used chopped chiles from a can. Im glad I did these 2 substitutions because the flavor was still pretty mild. My husband loved it (better than the thick stew style I've tried in the past with beans). I want to see it be a bit spicier and will be using hot enchilada sauce, hotter jalapeño chiles and potentially sautéing my onions prior to throwing in the crockpot. Overall wonderfully refreshing and easy dish and I cant wait to try again with some spicier tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Very good soup. Made with all Chicken Broth instead of water, used jalapenos instead of banana peppers and stewed tomatoes instead of whole canned tomatoes. Next time I make this I will use chicken thighs instead of breast, just personal preference. Also no review of the tortilla strips since I didn't make those (I know it’s chicken tortilla soup with no tortillas, lol).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States