Healthier Slow-Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
I am so excited to be the first reviewer and to have such wonderful things to say about this recipe! First of all it was so easy to make and it was so filling as well. I have two small boys and they both ate all of it! I did adjust a few things due to the fact that the kids are not big on spice incase it would be I only used one pepper. I also ended up cooking it on top of the stove top since I found out my crock pot was broken. Great it is a definite keeper:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2012
Easy to make. Forgot to buy the peppers so added a can of diced mild chilis. Started with frozen chicken breasts so I put them in without cutting into strips and without defrosting, and fork split them at the end. Garnished with fresh cilantro, diced green onions, sharp cheddar cheese and a dab of plain nonfat Greek yogurt. I will definitely make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This soup is amazing. Couple notes: I added black beans, and used white corn instead of yellow (just am not a fan of yellow corn, personally); you can probably replace the enchilada sauce with salsa to cut down on the sodium; and I didn't use the two cups of water because I like my soups heartier. But all-in-all, a very EASY, VERY DELICIOUS soup. Well done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2012
Wonderful recipe! I was skeptic that the flavor would be ideal in a "healthier" version of this recipe, but it turned out wonderful! I used about 25% more chicken, half a can of diced jalapenos instead of banana peppers, a can of Bush's seasoned black beans and kept everything else the same. The chicken was added at the beginning raw, and turned out amazingly tender after cooking 7 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2012
Fantastic flavor. I added some.more spices and put it in the crock pot. Awesome recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
really good! I added just a tiny bit of light sour cream, low fat cheese, and green onions and omitted the banana peppers. Really good. I will definitely make this again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Very Good. Easy to make and all enjoyed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
What a hit! I've made this soup twice in the last week. My family can't get enough of it and asks me to make more. I added a can of rinsed black beans and a can of hominy and cut back on the amount of banana pepper because we aren't big fans of overly spicy food. I highly recommend this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
I am not a soup person at all...And I LOVED THIS! And so did my husband. this will be a staple in our house...serve it with a side of cheese quesadilla and you have a Mexican twist on your standard grilled cheese and tomato soup! YUM!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Really delicious... I always make it exactly like the recipe the first time and make notes of what changes to make.. this one will pretty much remain the same! i especially like baking the tortillas, my previous recipe called for fried tortilla strips.. this is healthier... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maracaibo, Zulia, Venezuela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Tortilla Soup I

See how to make a quick, 5-star chicken soup that’s filling and delicious.

Slow Cooker Chicken Tortilla Soup

Make this tasty chicken tortilla soup in your slow cooker.

Chicken Tortilla Soup V

Chili powder and salsa give this 5-star tortilla soup just the right kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States