Healthier Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
Great base and wonderful suggestions for adjustments. Thanks all for your input. I served this to guests tonight and it was really tasty! Please note, however, that I also followed the suggestions of various others (more carrots & onions, half the salt, did not have cream of chicken soup and don't know what "Neufchâtel" cheese is so used coconut milk and cream cheese, and cooked for about 4.5 hrs by the time we ate). Will definitely make this again so I can try to make the original version.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
Very easy to make. I think I'd put more carrots in it next time, and perhaps a sharper cheese to pep it up a bit. But overall really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
Quick to prepare and tasty. Substituted a large can of chicken (we're snowed in and this was on hand) for the chicken breast chunks. Will use this recipe again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
We all thought this was good and would eat it again. It's comfort food! I left out the lemon as one of our family doesn't care for it. I also left out the salt, something I always do. I used 3 large chicken breasts. After about 3-1/2 hours I added the soup, cheese, and peas. I continued cooking on low, then set the slow cooker to warm after an additional two hours. The peas were overdone, I should have added them later. I served this over hot brown rice. We think it needed a bit more seasoning, but not sure what. It is a bit bland, but stroganoff is generally bland. Next time I will try leaving out the butter. After reading the reviews I noticed another did that with good results. I think I may add slices of carrot and celery next time. Maybe more garlic and onion as well. A keeper recipe. Thank you for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
I liked this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
Way too salty...can't taste the salmon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Delicious! My husband loved it and he only likes hot dogs, salisbury steak, and ice cream. The comments on it not being "healthy" shows that "healthy" is in the eye of the beholder. For me, 32.7 g protein and 6.5 g. carbs is really healthy. I substituted broccoli for the peas, so it was less than 6.5 g carbs. Sodium and fat are no big deal. One question: What is "natural cream of chicken soup?" Guess I must have used the unnatural kind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
Almost all recipes tried on this site are outstanding. However, this one was not one of them. The first time we ate it, my husband and I both thought it was rather tasteless. I added more spices, also sour cream and soup to try to save it. I thought it tasted pretty good but I took some to my son's house and my 7 year old grandson asked me why I brought that gross casserole. Sorry, but this is not one I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Madras, Oregon, USA
Living In: University Place, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
Loved it, and I got all 4 of my picky kids to eat it, some with seconds. I also added broccoli and mushrooms, delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
This was delish! Do not skimp on the lemon zest and I even squeezed some lemon juice in for good measure. I had some herbs de Provence in the spice drawer and used in place of the parsley. I really enjoyed this dish it reminded me of some of the rustic specials I tasted while visiting Provence a few years back. It was not overly salty either. I added a bit of salt and pepper T the table in fact. Also reviewers are right. It only takes 3-4 hours in slow cooker. Did. It have to put on high the laser 1/2 hour. Just used low setting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Stroganoff

See how to make an incredibly simple chicken stroganoff in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Chicken and Dumplings

See how to make a simple, satisfying chicken dinner.

Slow Cooker BBQ Chicken

Shredded slow-simmered chicken in a tangy homemade BBQ sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States