Healthier Sloppy Joes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LaShawn Monigan
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2014
Instead of using ground beef I used ground turkey
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaShawn Monigan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I adjusted for I had ingredients I had on hand. I use ground turkey, a whole red pepper, a whole small white onion, & a whole small Purple Onion. And as I increase the veggies quite a bit, I had increased the amount of ketchup used. Next time I think I might use canned diced tomatoes. It was amazing. I loved it.... loved it .....loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthAnn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hallstead, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Oxford, Pennsylvania, USA
Photo by Jeazyy
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
This recipe is excellent. The first time I used ground beef and was great. Second time I used ground turkey and was great too. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2014
Love it...always use it...red peppers, not green...Made it many times for family and parties. 5 stars...adjust ingredients to taste...drain all fat...add water for consistency. Great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
Had to change a few things because of what we had on hand, left out the onion (didn't have one), added mustard because we were out of ground mustard, and used a little less ketchup than it called for (ran out while cooking), but the kids still ate it up and went back for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2013
I didn't use carrots and I did double the sugar for my nieces sake. They were very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia and Katie

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2012
Loved it and a great way to sneak in veggies. I chopped the carrots too big the first time and it was a little dry for my taste, so the second time around I used the slap chopper thing we have to get it super finely chopped. I increased the ketchup to a full cup to add a little more moisture and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I ran the onion, red pepper, carrots and garlic through the food processor to get a fine chop before sauteing it. I wanted a little smokier flavor, I used half ketchup/half barbecue sauce. This sloppy joe recipe was okay--it worked for me because it used ingredients on hand and it was quick to make. I served this with ranch jo-jo potatoes and a veggie platter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
Delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Paula
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
I like sneaking extra veggies in dinner. I should have chopped the carrots much smaller, but my husband and I didn't mind. Children would have. These burgers had a slightly spicy taste. I also lightened this recipe a bit by using Quorn instead of ground beef.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Olive Branch, Mississippi, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

How to Make Classic Sloppy Joes

Watch how to make this delicious cafeteria classic from scratch.

Sloppy Joes II

See how to make an All-American classic!

Super Easy Sloppy Joes

See how to make a super quick-and-easy recipe for sloppy joes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States