Healthier Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I love this pie crust its so easy to make and takes no time at all!! I used this crust with a blueberry pie and it worked wonderfully!! My father has diabetes and after eatin this pie his blood sugar was 4.5 which is brillant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2008
Pretty good for a healthy pie crust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tegan Lee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Folsom, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2008
Excellent substitution for traditional pie crust! I was making a blackberry-peach pie and didn't have any butter for our usual pie crust so I tried this one. It was delicious! I figured it wouldn't work as a top pie crust so I ended up making some crumble topping and made more of a fruit cobbler instead. Worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2008
I used this crust recipe for the honey pecan pie my husband loves - he doesn't want me to use any crust but this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2007
We thought this crust was wonderful. I bake lots of pies and was amazed at the quality and taste of this crust. I was looking for something that didn't use lard, butter or shortening, but still made a good pie. I'm glad to say I found it with this recipe. A+
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2007
So yummy! This crust has a great texture and is perfect if you are trying to avoid hydrogenated fats AND saturated fat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2007
I didn't tell my fiends, who don't like coconut, about the crust ingredients, but they liked it anyway. Though, I agree that it was a bit sweet using the sweetened coconut. So, next time I will try 1/2 sweetened and 1/2 regular. The crust went well with the Apple Crunch Pie II recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
A lot of people don't know that coconut is not recommended for those with high cholesterol, so may not be healthy for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Not bad at all. More difficult to mold than our typical pie crust - I added about 4 tbsp of water total to help with that. It's important to press it into the pan thin, because my first one came out with some pretty thick points. Obviously not as good as your traditional shortening&butter crust, but sacrificed taste is worth the health advantage. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2006
tasty, easy, great! I didn't bake right away, but went straight to the freezer. Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States