Healthier Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2009
This pie crust really has a fantastic texture. Instead of using just vegetable oil, we swapped half the oil for butter. It added a nice finish. Love it! Will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2009
Turned out great with a pumpkin pie. For me, nothing beats the real full fut pastry crust, but I don't know how to make that kind anyway. This was a great alternative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eva Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
Yummy, yummy! I added a total of 1/2 cup unsweetened coconut, along with a 1/2 teaspoon vanilla, 1 teas cinnamon, 1/4 teas salt and 2 tbl of brown sugar. I sprayed a 9x13 glass pan with cooking spary and pressed the crust in and baked it at 425 degrees for 15 minutes before pouring in my favorite apple pie filling and baking it until the apples were tender. This warm with a scoop of vanilla was incredible. My kids who are not huge apple pie fans said this was one of the top 2 desserts they have tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2009
Instead of coconut I used ground pecans. I also used half oil half maple syrup. It was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2009
love this crust. use it with coconut and a bit of sugar for pies, or without for quiche!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a great recipe for those of us on the whole grain kick. I used whole wheat for the flour and needed to double the water, and I left out the coconut,then I rolled it out and used it as the top for a pot pie. It was Scrumptious! The whole family loved it. Can't wait to try it on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeanie Bonhoff

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
I made this with a Egg Nog Custard pie for Thanksgiving and it turned out great! My in-laws loved it too. It's a bit flakey, but has a very unique taste and texture. I'll use this recipe again and again because it was so easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trish Hensel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coon Rapids, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Menahga, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Delicious even though I added ground flax seeds which ended up burning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This pie crust was so incredibly delicious. Very easy to make. I used it as is and also without coconut (with extra oats) and it turned out great both times. Even after a few days the crust has held up after being refrigerated and was not mushy. I will definitely keep experimenting with this crust and different fillings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2008
Very good. I added a little bit of brown sugar for some extra flavor. Definitely recommend. I made it with low-fat pumpkin pie and pumpkin cream pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesburg, Ohio, USA
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States