Healthier Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2014
I found a much better method with this pie crust. I wanted to make a quiche so I excluded the coconut and added more oats and flour, which I blended the oats to make oat flour. Then instead of 2 Tbsp of ice water, I did about 6-8, i just kept adding more until just right when I could roll a ball. I then took a rolling pin and rolled it out like a real pie crust instead of just pressing it into the pan, so it made it even, and in doing so it even had flaky layers like a real pie crust! This had so much less fat, and made the best quiche ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skyler Wes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
Coconut contains more unhealthy fats than pretty much any other food. This might be a tasty recipe, just remember, it might not be that healthy for your heart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2012
nice oatmeal crust with texture for 1 crust pie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2011
i'm rating this 3 stars. when i made it the crust fell apart and began to crumble trying to plate my pie :( but the taste is quite deelish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jackie limina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Duquesne, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2011
I have to admit I wasn't sure about a "healthy" pie crust, but this was very tasty! I made it with a banana cream pie and it was great. Can't wait to try it with an apple pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by j-mo

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
Not bad, but it tastes like oatmeal and coconut. Not really what I want, but I guess to sacrifice for less calories!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Saint Joseph, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Not your regular flakey pie crust, but a very nice healthy substitue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Tried this with a pumpkin pie filling without the coconut. It wasn't bad. I liked it better the second day perhaps because I was getting used to it. Will try again with appples. I give it an A for effort as pie crusts usually are about 1500 calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
I prepared this recipe last night for pumpkin pie. Actually it is wonderful, remains creaking and delicate, it will be my favorite now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cartago, Cartago, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I loved it! I left out the coconut and added extra oats. I also ground the oats into a flour like consistancey and added a tablespoon of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by passionatebaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jessup, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States