Healthier Pie Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2000
Very quick, very easy and very hearty. I replaced the coconut with extra oats and used it as a crust for apple pie. Very good, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2006
Not bad at all. More difficult to mold than our typical pie crust - I added about 4 tbsp of water total to help with that. It's important to press it into the pan thin, because my first one came out with some pretty thick points. Obviously not as good as your traditional shortening&butter crust, but sacrificed taste is worth the health advantage. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2006
This is excellent. Don't forget to grease the pan a little first - the 1st one I made stuck a little. I made a bumbleberry pie and used a crumb topping. Came out amazingly! This is the only crust recipe I will use from now on. Would work as a bottom for squares too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2008
This pie crust was so incredibly delicious. Very easy to make. I used it as is and also without coconut (with extra oats) and it turned out great both times. Even after a few days the crust has held up after being refrigerated and was not mushy. I will definitely keep experimenting with this crust and different fillings. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lakewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2009
This is a great recipe for those of us on the whole grain kick. I used whole wheat for the flour and needed to double the water, and I left out the coconut,then I rolled it out and used it as the top for a pot pie. It was Scrumptious! The whole family loved it. Can't wait to try it on something else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeanie zucchini

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2006
A lot of people don't know that coconut is not recommended for those with high cholesterol, so may not be healthy for all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Salem, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2008
I love this pie crust its so easy to make and takes no time at all!! I used this crust with a blueberry pie and it worked wonderfully!! My father has diabetes and after eatin this pie his blood sugar was 4.5 which is brillant!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2009
I loved it! I left out the coconut and added extra oats. I also ground the oats into a flour like consistancey and added a tablespoon of sugar. I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by passionatebaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jessup, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2003
I really liked this. Tasted great with a coconut custard filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2002
Healthy it may be, but bland also i'm afraid, tho' saying that, it will get used again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Basic Flaky Pie Crust

This from-scratch pie crust is easy and foolproof.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States