Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
Delicious - there's nothing like oven roasted potatoes to compliment a grilled steak dinner! Who knew something could taste so good using only 1 Tbsp. of olive oil... The mix of fresh herbs was fabulous and the addition of the red pepper flakes gave it a nice "kick". This is a wonderful side dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I used eight red potatoes in this recipe instead of your basic baked potato. I also used homemade roasted garlic in this recipe and I increased the EVOO just a touch. I did bake mine at 400* for almost 45 minutes and they got a nice crust on them. I served these as a fill in for my usual home fries (that I make in the cast iron with bacon grease) and the boys seemed to like them, though I think I did like them a little more than they did. NO leftovers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
156 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2012
Changed nothing but using dried herbs since I had non of the fresh on hand....also used red skinned taters....Very good and flavorful....we like ours kinda crispy so the cooking time was about 400 degrees for about 45 minutes to an hour for us....thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
132 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious!! I made as directed, except I used dried herbs instead of fresh since that is what i had on hand. I used 1 tsp of each and the flavors were evenly balanced and so tasty! Needed more salt for my taste and will be a regular dish at my table from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Debbie Elledge

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
Question: why would you peel the potatoes?The nutrients found in potatoes are in the peel. Wash them thoroughly with a brush under running water and cube them with the peel. It adds to the flavor and you get the nutrients also. I have made these many times.But instead of cubing, I cut them in frie lengths and follow same procedure.This recipe is versatile.Other seasonings can be added or removed.Try adding chili powder,cumin,garlic powder instead of minced garlic,Italian seasoning,oregano, basil,you name it,you can use it.I've used a combo of the ingredients and then I've used just a few of them.However you choose,this is a good dish,it healthy and if left unpeeled,you get the nutrients for your bods too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2012
I made this as a dinner side dish with white potatoes that were on hand and it was great! I also made them and then mixed them in scrambled eggs for a fantastic breakfast. My family didn't even put ketchup on the eggs and potatoes. They kept begging me to make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
This is very similar to a recipe that I use, with the addition of basil. I know it will be delish! And don't take my word for it, my picky son just loved these potatoes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ace

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Winter Park, Florida, USA
Living In: Maitland, Florida, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
I guess my potatoes weren’t so healthy because I know I used more olive oil than called for, not measuring but using enough to coat the potatoes. Since I used Baby Yukon Golds, the skin was so tender I didn’t bother to peel them. I also stuck to just rosemary and garlic because I love that simple combination (and because roasting fresh basil doesn’t appeal to me). Turning them half way through was all they needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
I used sweet potato's (better for you ) added a dash of cinnamon ,and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
My husband gave it 5 stars but I give it 3 because the red peper flakes over powered the other seasoning. And to me these were really hot! Will make again without the pepper flakes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthier Oven Roasted Potatoes

Roasted potatoes with less oil and lots of fresh herbs.

Chef John’s Special Roasted Potatoes

See a boil-and-roast method for making beautiful, crispy roasted potatoes.

Roasted New Red Potatoes

See how to make perfect roasted red potatoes the easy way.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States