Healthier Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 23, 2012
We tried this recipe ...It was great.thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Callaway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
If you are like me and are trying to eliminate vegetable oils (that are the cause of so much inflamation in our arteries), try substituting 1/2 cup of plain yogurt for the vegetable oil. I also like to add 1 teaspoon of lemon zest to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
72 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I adjusted it a little bit by cutting out the oil and using applesauce instead... turned out great! It could even have some sugar eliminated and add more cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
109 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
This was a good recipe. simple and easy to follow. i did tweak this recipe to make it gluten and oil and dairy free. replaced the all-purpose and whole wheat flour with oat flour (same measurements), and took out the 1/2 cup of oil and milk and added 1c of applesauce. was really pleased with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
Good recipe, I tweaked it a bit. I reduced the oil to 1/4 cup and added 1 ripe banana. I also reduced the sugar to 1 C. It turned out fantastic! I also added 1 C. of white chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2012
Good Zucchini bread. The only difference was I used all whole wheat, added 1/2 tsp nutmeg (LOVE nutmeg!) and used some brown sugar for depth of flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Great flavorful bread! My family of seven loved this recipe, and here are my changes: I used 1/2 cup melted butter instead of the oil and lowered the sugar to 1 cup. I also added 1 cup of applesauce. It turned out perfect. The butter added the butter flavor and I felt I didn't need to cover the bread in butter before eating. We actually ate it warm out of the oven with a scoop of vanilla ice cream on top. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Made this yesterday and was really disappointed with the result. My loaves baked fine, but after taking them out, they fell flat and were soggy in the middle. I changed the recipe by using only 1 C sugar, put in 2.5 C zucchini and only AP flour. What did I do wrong? I could tell the batter was too liquid when I was mixing, I wish I had added more flour. The milk made the mixture too watery for me. Though I'm not sure why my bread was flat and still too soggy? I will follow the original "non-healthy" recipe next time an see what happens. Otherwise, I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aniela26
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2012
These came out great! I substituted the milk and oil for 1 cup of applesauce, and I was out of vanilla extract so I used 3 tsp of maple syrup. I also made half the recipe in a bread pan and half in muffins. The muffins cook at the same temperature for about half the time. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Voorheesville, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I cut this recipe back to 12 servings. I did make two changes--I increased both the baking soda and baking powder to a full teaspoon each and instead of using half of one egg, I added a couple tablespoons of unsweetened applesauce. I made muffins out of this recipe. Baked at 350*, my muffins were done at just over 20 minutes. This is a nice basic zucchini bread that was moist and chewy. Out of 12 muffins that were made, there are four leftover.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States