Healthier Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2014
It was very good, but I always leave out the baking powder from any recipe as research has shown that it attacks and disables the B vitamins along the myelin sheath of the nerves. This leaves kids antsy and adults nervous and easily annoyed. Instead I just increased the baking soda by 1/2 tsp. Then I reduced the milk by 1/4 cup and soured the remaining with 1/4 cup of lemon juice. This increases the acidity, which reacts with the baking soda and creates lots of little bubbles in the batter. I reduced the oil to 3 Tbl. I pop it in the oven immediately after adding the soured milk as the bubbles burst quickly. I also substitute whole grain spelt flour and white spelt flour as I am somewhat gluten sensitive. I also used goat milk instead of cow. And instead of the sugar I used 1/2 C of maple syrup and 1/4 tsp sweet leaf liquid stevia.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brenda Nelson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I just made this recipe for the first time, and intended to make it exactly as written. I made a mistake, though and only added 1/2 cup sugar, instead of the 1 1/2 cups the recipe calls for. This was a happy accident, though, as the bread was plenty sweet enough for my family's taste. Other than the sugar, I made it exactly as written, baked it for 42 minutes and it turned out delicious! Very moist! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Esfahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I make this two times of all the zucchini recipes I have tried tthis is one I wil not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manitoba Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I tripled the recipe and made 4 loaves and 1 9x13 pan and each turned out great (I had a large zucchini and freeze the sliced cakes for lunches). I skipped the nuts and added raisons and chocolate chips and subbed half the oil for applesauce. Very moist and tasty. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Soft, fluffy and totally DELICIOUS! Came out great! My "healthy" version: Used all whole wheat flour (3 cups), increased both the baking soda and powder to 1 teaspoon each, cinnamon to 4 1/2 tsp. plus added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, added 1 ripe banana and decreased sugar to 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white, yogurt instead of oil, almond milk in place of regular milk, added one extra cup of zucchini + the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Amazing!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I LOVE this as a guide but I wouldn't call it "healthy" with all of that sugar. I tripled the recipe, used 1/2 c sugar, 1/4 cup packed brown sugar TOTAL for the tripled recipe and 8 large zucchini grated. Also substituted the oil & milk with homemade applesauce (that I make without sugar). I did use the walnuts bc my family needs the extra protein in the am. Also used 5 eggs total. It worked out fabulous and I will freeze these muffins for quick back-to-school breakfasts. My kids never complain about it not being sweet enough but you could add chopped dates to give it a sweet boost. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I substituted regular whole wheat flour and used buttermilk because that is what I had - otherwise I made it as written. I usually don't care for whole wheat quick breads but this was very moist, tender and just sweet enough with half the fat of the standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Bake
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I used 2 c ww flour, 1 c flour, 1/2 c oil, 1/2 c applesauce. Skipped the nuts. Yum. Addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Really good recipe, but you can easily make it even healthier. I used all whole-wheat flour, reduced the sugar and added blueberries. Next time I plan to add apple sauce and reduce the oil and sugar even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States