Healthier Mom's Zucchini Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
I just made this recipe for the first time, and intended to make it exactly as written. I made a mistake, though and only added 1/2 cup sugar, instead of the 1 1/2 cups the recipe calls for. This was a happy accident, though, as the bread was plenty sweet enough for my family's taste. Other than the sugar, I made it exactly as written, baked it for 42 minutes and it turned out delicious! Very moist! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl Esfahan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2014
I make this two times of all the zucchini recipes I have tried tthis is one I wil not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Manitoba Mom
Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2014
I tripled the recipe and made 4 loaves and 1 9x13 pan and each turned out great (I had a large zucchini and freeze the sliced cakes for lunches). I skipped the nuts and added raisons and chocolate chips and subbed half the oil for applesauce. Very moist and tasty. I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Soft, fluffy and totally DELICIOUS! Came out great! My "healthy" version: Used all whole wheat flour (3 cups), increased both the baking soda and powder to 1 teaspoon each, cinnamon to 4 1/2 tsp. plus added 1/4 tsp. nutmeg, added 1 ripe banana and decreased sugar to 1/2 cup brown and 1/2 cup white, yogurt instead of oil, almond milk in place of regular milk, added one extra cup of zucchini + the walnuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Amazing!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2014
I LOVE this as a guide but I wouldn't call it "healthy" with all of that sugar. I tripled the recipe, used 1/2 c sugar, 1/4 cup packed brown sugar TOTAL for the tripled recipe and 8 large zucchini grated. Also substituted the oil & milk with homemade applesauce (that I make without sugar). I did use the walnuts bc my family needs the extra protein in the am. Also used 5 eggs total. It worked out fabulous and I will freeze these muffins for quick back-to-school breakfasts. My kids never complain about it not being sweet enough but you could add chopped dates to give it a sweet boost. I may try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
I substituted regular whole wheat flour and used buttermilk because that is what I had - otherwise I made it as written. I usually don't care for whole wheat quick breads but this was very moist, tender and just sweet enough with half the fat of the standard recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Luv2Bake
Reviewed: May 8, 2014
I used 2 c ww flour, 1 c flour, 1/2 c oil, 1/2 c applesauce. Skipped the nuts. Yum. Addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Luv2Bake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2014
Really good recipe, but you can easily make it even healthier. I used all whole-wheat flour, reduced the sugar and added blueberries. Next time I plan to add apple sauce and reduce the oil and sugar even more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
This is a great recipe to tweak. I substituted applesauce for the oil, and used vanilla Silk for the milk. I also did half white sugar and half brown sugar. Added both cinnamon and pumpkin pie spice (didn't have just nutmeg). I also upped the amount of zucchini to 5 cups, left out the nuts and added about 1/4 cup raisins (what I had left in the package). I did not have loaf pans, so I used casserole dishes and made Zucchini Cake. This made about 21 servings at 131 calories a serving. Everyone in the family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Zucchini Bread

See how to make a super-moist, five-star quick bread.

Zucchini Bread IV

See how to make a cinnamon-spicy, slightly sweet zucchini bread.

Chocolate Zucchini Bread I

This bread is moist and delicious—great for a snack or dessert.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States