Healthier Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
This recipe turned out to be very delicious! I did change a couple things just to be what I consider adventurous. It was still good, but I think I should have stuck to the recipe. I used 2 small cans beef broth, no celery, more carrots, and only one onion. My husband likes the juicy part of the meal, but we both agreed that it was too watery with the 2 cans beef broth. I could have used one can beef broth and maybe one can cream of mushroom soup with french onion soup mix. That would have made the juicy party thicker. I also cooked on high for 3 hours and low for 4 hours. The meat was very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
80 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 7, 2012
I added 1/2 cup water. And I added a package of dry onion mix to this. Cooked on High for 4 hours, then low for 3 hours. AWESOME.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DzzRed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Livingston, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2012
The whole house smells amazing! Not the most time-friendly crockpot recipe since you add veggies during the cooking time, but well worth it. Everything cooked up perfectly. It was a great base to add my personal touches, and used ingredients I already had on hand. I used part sweet potato and part russett potatoes, and got great flavor. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Corrine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Bonner Springs, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is very easy and has great flavor. A 3 lb. pot roast would have been too much for us so I used a flat iron steak I had hanging around, floured and browned it in a skillet before adding it to the broth. So simple and good. You can’t go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I literally just finished eating this recipe. It's delicious! I used Montreal steak seasoning instead of just salt and pepper. I also added a can of progresso recipe starter mushroom that I had lying around. The meat came out tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is the time of year for dishes like these; since my wife and I are trying to watch what we eat (and how much) we cook alot more at home than we used to. I've done some time on the line in various restaurants but I'll confess to not paying much attention to recipes and while I'm an ok cook, I rely mostly on my Mom's recipes, which are fantastic. However, my Mom rarely used a crockpot, all of her recipes are of the from-scratch, old school variety and frankly, I don't always want to spend that much time prepping and cooking, so thank you AllRecipes, and all of you fine contributors. This is my go-to recipe for crockpot pot roast- simple (well, the searing part can be a bit of a bear) and relatively easy to put together, I do like Mr. Popeil says- set it and forget it. I actually have that rotisserie thing of his, but it isn't nearly as good as meat done in the crock pot (or standard pot if that's your thing). I typically use a top or bottom round just because I prefer that cut for roasts; I use regular broth and I'll shave a clove of garlic and lay it on top of the meat just before I close the top. Rather than the two-stage process the recipe calls for, I combine all of the ingredients and cook it for 4 to 4 1/2 hours on high. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Easy prep and cooks all day! Very tasty. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
hubby & I just finished this very delicious meal.. food is so tasty in a slow cooker & I was looking for a recipe to add vegetables later on ,so this was very helpful thanks Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildirishrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious! I omitted onions and added more celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family loved it! very tasty :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a super simple, tender pot roast in the crock pot.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States