Healthier Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2014
This is the time of year for dishes like these; since my wife and I are trying to watch what we eat (and how much) we cook alot more at home than we used to. I've done some time on the line in various restaurants but I'll confess to not paying much attention to recipes and while I'm an ok cook, I rely mostly on my Mom's recipes, which are fantastic. However, my Mom rarely used a crockpot, all of her recipes are of the from-scratch, old school variety and frankly, I don't always want to spend that much time prepping and cooking, so thank you AllRecipes, and all of you fine contributors. This is my go-to recipe for crockpot pot roast- simple (well, the searing part can be a bit of a bear) and relatively easy to put together, I do like Mr. Popeil says- set it and forget it. I actually have that rotisserie thing of his, but it isn't nearly as good as meat done in the crock pot (or standard pot if that's your thing). I typically use a top or bottom round just because I prefer that cut for roasts; I use regular broth and I'll shave a clove of garlic and lay it on top of the meat just before I close the top. Rather than the two-stage process the recipe calls for, I combine all of the ingredients and cook it for 4 to 4 1/2 hours on high. Comes out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
hubby & I just finished this very delicious meal.. food is so tasty in a slow cooker & I was looking for a recipe to add vegetables later on ,so this was very helpful thanks Marie
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wildirishrose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2014
Delicious! I omitted onions and added more celery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2013
Good, everyday pot roast. With the beef, salt and potatoes, it's hard for me to consider this a healthy dinner. Just healthier than other pot roast options.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berlin, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
Really good, even kids the kids liked it! Next time, I will probably use more carrots and fewer potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2013
YUM didn't change a thing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I literally just finished eating this recipe. It's delicious! I used Montreal steak seasoning instead of just salt and pepper. I also added a can of progresso recipe starter mushroom that I had lying around. The meat came out tender and flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My family loved it! very tasty :]
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
Easy prep and cooks all day! Very tasty. Will make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2012
This is very easy and has great flavor. A 3 lb. pot roast would have been too much for us so I used a flat iron steak I had hanging around, floured and browned it in a skillet before adding it to the broth. So simple and good. You can’t go wrong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marie's Easy Slow Cooker Pot Roast

Make a top-rated pot roast that’s quick and easy.

Awesome Slow Cooker Pot Roast

See how to make a simple and satisfying 5-star pot roast in your slow cooker.

Three Packet Slow Cooker Roast

See how to make a simple, savory beef roast in the slow cooker.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States