Healthier Juicy Roasted Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Delicious! Maybe because I used an organic chicken, but it was super moist and full of flavor. I used between 1/4 and 1/2 cup of butter under the skin as instructed. I added 4 garlic cloves inside. Sprinkled the bird with Montreal Chicken Grill Mate for additional flavor. The simple combination of vegetables is flavor-fully sweet and rustic. Enough vegetables so no other side dishes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2014
Really liked this recipe. Only used 1/4-1/2 of the fat (I used margarine as we have no butter in the house) And it turned out great. I should have tossed the veggies better as they were a bit dry-roasted but I just drizzled and tossed them with a little olive oil after baking. Yummy! I got raves from all. I gave this four stars because I agree with others that the cooking time listed should be 15-30 min. longer. DEFINITELY making this again... And again... And again! Thanks for sharing, MakeItHealthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2013
I really liked the flavor, I cut back on the butter and olive oil because the drippings from then chicken would be sufficient to coat the roasting veggies. Really my only complaint is my chicken has been in the oven for well over the time suggested in the recipe. It has completely thrown off everything else. The brown rice has been finished for awhile and the chicken still isn't quite ready. I just like to have everything done at the same time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
I followed this recipe with 1/2 the butter (I used 1/4 c. total) and added two garlic cloves inside the Chicken. The meat was juicy and the skin was crisp. The vegetables were also very delicious with the olive oil and chicken drippings. We will definitely have this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2012
Chicken took longer that stated on recipe so vegetables were slightly overcooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Canakat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
While very moist I found the chicken to be rather bland. I have never roast a chicken before so I followed the recipe exactly with the exception of throwing some mushrooms in with the veggies because hubby and I love mushroom...should the skin have been crispy? because mine was decidedly not. All in all, I'll try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
The amount of butter this recipe calls for was probably twice what it needs to be. The butter melted and dripped down onto the veggies, which were already coated with oil. The result was soggy veggies swimming in fat. It also needs seasonings to boost the flavor. It was edible and can be modified to suit personal preferences.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
I like how she said she was going to make it healthier - with butter! So true! This was great, I make it all the time now! I also added some beets, squash and zucchini because it's summer and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janet
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2012
This recipe made a really delicious, moist chicken. It was really easy to stuff the butter under the skin, I had never tried that before when roasting poultry. You could add herbs or spices to the butter to give the meat more flavor if you wanted. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by janet

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iowa City, Iowa, USA
Living In: Littleton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Salt Roasted Chicken

See how to make earth’s easiest (and possibly tastiest) roasted chicken.

Juicy Roasted Chicken

Try this easy and delicious way to make a juicy roast chicken.

Roasted Lemon Herb Chicken

See how to make a simple herb-rubbed roast chicken, Italian-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States