Healthier Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
this got my 14 year old's stamp of approval. I added frozen veg (carrots, peas, & green beans) to the pasta water at the last min. Simple to cook, plenty of leftovers and my family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rooftopsrevolution
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Bland and a bit tasteless. My suggestion is to add sea salt while eating and it turns out perfect. Make sure to drain the macaroni fully before cooking, otherwise it gets a little watery. But, I managed to pull it off with several mistakes, so great overall and yummy with a few adjustments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I liked that it used less butter but did not come out well. Lacked taste and was very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2013
Did this with two (2) boxes of 12oz elbow macaron. Used three (3) cups of cheddar and probably about two (2) cups of parm. Instead of bread crumbs I sprinkled the two cheese's over the top with some salt and pepper. Delicious! Around ten (10) servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lelizabeth723

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe is bland. I added a lot of extra parm cheese which helped. Also, the recipe says it makes four servings but it actually makes at least 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Turned out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was pretty good, but I think for the calories/fat content you might as well use regular cheese. I find it makes a big difference with the taste and regular cheese melts more easily. A few other things I found: -definitely make sure to add cheese very gradually into the milk (esp. with low fat cheese) -don't worry if the cheese sauce comes out runny (it thickens up in the oven) -some chili powder works well in the sauce -I'm betting a little sauteed onion would add some great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I used fat free milk (2 cups instead of 3 for 4 servings) and skipped the breadcrumbs, and it turned out quite delicious. I added some more paprika, black pepper and tiny bit of chili powder for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Top-notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I oversaw my oldest boy making this dish--I didn't give him much advice, other than explain how to make a roux properly because the directions did not explain to brown it before adding the milk and to gradually add the cheese so the sauce does not seize up. He used sharp white cheddar cheese and added a couple shakes Frank's Hot Sauce and four quartered all beef hot dogs, as he wanted to make it a little more personal. The kids and I loved this macaroni and cheese recipe and my son was quite tickled that he was able to make it on his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Old School Mac 'N Cheese

This is homemade mac 'n cheese just like grandma used to make.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States