Healthier Homemade Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I oversaw my oldest boy making this dish--I didn't give him much advice, other than explain how to make a roux properly because the directions did not explain to brown it before adding the milk and to gradually add the cheese so the sauce does not seize up. He used sharp white cheddar cheese and added a couple shakes Frank's Hot Sauce and four quartered all beef hot dogs, as he wanted to make it a little more personal. The kids and I loved this macaroni and cheese recipe and my son was quite tickled that he was able to make it on his own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I used fat free milk (2 cups instead of 3 for 4 servings) and skipped the breadcrumbs, and it turned out quite delicious. I added some more paprika, black pepper and tiny bit of chili powder for an extra kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2012
This was pretty good, but I think for the calories/fat content you might as well use regular cheese. I find it makes a big difference with the taste and regular cheese melts more easily. A few other things I found: -definitely make sure to add cheese very gradually into the milk (esp. with low fat cheese) -don't worry if the cheese sauce comes out runny (it thickens up in the oven) -some chili powder works well in the sauce -I'm betting a little sauteed onion would add some great flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2012
This recipe is bland. I added a lot of extra parm cheese which helped. Also, the recipe says it makes four servings but it actually makes at least 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2012
Turned out a little dry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
Top-notch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2014
I gave this 4 stars because I've had better. However it was pretty good I think what makes the differance is how good the cheese is, how good the noodles are. Fallowing the recipe exactly it comes out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stevensville, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2014
this got my 14 year old's stamp of approval. I added frozen veg (carrots, peas, & green beans) to the pasta water at the last min. Simple to cook, plenty of leftovers and my family likes it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rooftopsrevolution
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
Bland and a bit tasteless. My suggestion is to add sea salt while eating and it turns out perfect. Make sure to drain the macaroni fully before cooking, otherwise it gets a little watery. But, I managed to pull it off with several mistakes, so great overall and yummy with a few adjustments :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2013
I liked that it used less butter but did not come out well. Lacked taste and was very watery.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Homemade Mac and Cheese

See how to make a velvety, five-star macaroni and cheese.

Chef John's Lobster Mac and Cheese

Chef John's decadent dish of Lobster Mac and Cheese is WAY easier than it looks!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States