Healthier Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Hurray for healthier! I made this without the cocoa powder and used flavored (soy) yogurt for a pumpkin pie. You couldn't tell. Tip: mix the yogurt in really well because it sticks to the utensil at wet spots when pressing it into pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was surprised how wonderful this crust was!! I too left out the cocoa, and made this crust for a pumpkin pie. Using vanilla yogurt added a nice touch (the possibilities are endless with the flavors of yogurt!). I brought one pie made with this crust to a gathering, and everyone loved the crust, because it was different. Word of caution: I used this on a bigger pie plate (deep dish), and the dough was spread a little thin, so ended up a little on the hard and crunchy side (not my favorite). I'd add an extra few graham crackers and a bit more yogurt if making a larger pie. Crust should be fairly thick for ultimate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I made this crust without the cocoa and with vanilla yogurt. It turned out great and no one could believe it was actually healthier. I topped it with vanilla pudding, and I bet it would taste great with some fruit on top of that. Quick and easy and tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
WONDERFUL! I just lvoed this crust, and it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
yummy! I made this crust for the Crumble Apple pie...I must admit I was a little worried about how this crust would turn out since I had a 9.5" pan and had to tweak things...but it turned out great! I used lowfat vanilla yogurt and I didn't find it too hard to work into the pan, just press it with the bottom of a glass and you're good to go! Great crust, thanks for sharing, will def use again! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very nice crust. I used it for a pumpkin pie and it turned out great. I omitted the cocoa and sugar but added 1/2 tsp salt. I chilled the pie shell in the refrigerator before filling it. Thanks Joane for the healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Loved it. One box of graham crakers made 2 crusts (as I recall). I did not add the cocoa. Much better than the flour/lard traditional pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Made this without the cocoa with gingerbread graham crackers for a sweet potato pie. It was very tasty and much lower in calories than regular pie crust. Will definitely make crusts this way any time I need a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I really liked this pie crust. The only change I made was I used four tablespoons of yogurt instead of three. Otherwise, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I am giving this 5 stars even though mine turned out chewy. I misread my directions and had the oven at 400, so I think it was my fault. It tasted good to me even though it was chewy, I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States