Healthier Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Loved it. One box of graham crakers made 2 crusts (as I recall). I did not add the cocoa. Much better than the flour/lard traditional pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
yummy! I made this crust for the Crumble Apple pie...I must admit I was a little worried about how this crust would turn out since I had a 9.5" pan and had to tweak things...but it turned out great! I used lowfat vanilla yogurt and I didn't find it too hard to work into the pan, just press it with the bottom of a glass and you're good to go! Great crust, thanks for sharing, will def use again! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was surprised how wonderful this crust was!! I too left out the cocoa, and made this crust for a pumpkin pie. Using vanilla yogurt added a nice touch (the possibilities are endless with the flavors of yogurt!). I brought one pie made with this crust to a gathering, and everyone loved the crust, because it was different. Word of caution: I used this on a bigger pie plate (deep dish), and the dough was spread a little thin, so ended up a little on the hard and crunchy side (not my favorite). I'd add an extra few graham crackers and a bit more yogurt if making a larger pie. Crust should be fairly thick for ultimate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Hurray for healthier! I made this without the cocoa powder and used flavored (soy) yogurt for a pumpkin pie. You couldn't tell. Tip: mix the yogurt in really well because it sticks to the utensil at wet spots when pressing it into pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
WONDERFUL! I just lvoed this crust, and it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I made this crust without the cocoa and with vanilla yogurt. It turned out great and no one could believe it was actually healthier. I topped it with vanilla pudding, and I bet it would taste great with some fruit on top of that. Quick and easy and tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I am giving this 5 stars even though mine turned out chewy. I misread my directions and had the oven at 400, so I think it was my fault. It tasted good to me even though it was chewy, I will try it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MaryAnne aka Anne's daughter

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Queens, New York, USA
Living In: Clinton, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very nice crust. I used it for a pumpkin pie and it turned out great. I omitted the cocoa and sugar but added 1/2 tsp salt. I chilled the pie shell in the refrigerator before filling it. Thanks Joane for the healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Made this without the cocoa with gingerbread graham crackers for a sweet potato pie. It was very tasty and much lower in calories than regular pie crust. Will definitely make crusts this way any time I need a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2007
I really liked this pie crust. The only change I made was I used four tablespoons of yogurt instead of three. Otherwise, great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States