Healthier Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was surprised how wonderful this crust was!! I too left out the cocoa, and made this crust for a pumpkin pie. Using vanilla yogurt added a nice touch (the possibilities are endless with the flavors of yogurt!). I brought one pie made with this crust to a gathering, and everyone loved the crust, because it was different. Word of caution: I used this on a bigger pie plate (deep dish), and the dough was spread a little thin, so ended up a little on the hard and crunchy side (not my favorite). I'd add an extra few graham crackers and a bit more yogurt if making a larger pie. Crust should be fairly thick for ultimate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I give this recipe 3 stars for taste and an extra for ingenuity and calorie-cutting. I had graham crackers so I just crushed them instead of buying crumbs (though the former is a bit more time-consuming). I will definitely be using this recipe from now on instead of buying pie crusts. A note to those who complained of the stickyness. I find as long as you wet whatever tool you're pressing the crust into the pan with (be it spoon, spatula or hands), there isn't a problem. I dip a spoon in water and then press the crust into the pan and have no problems with stickyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Hurray for healthier! I made this without the cocoa powder and used flavored (soy) yogurt for a pumpkin pie. You couldn't tell. Tip: mix the yogurt in really well because it sticks to the utensil at wet spots when pressing it into pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I made this crust without the cocoa and with vanilla yogurt. It turned out great and no one could believe it was actually healthier. I topped it with vanilla pudding, and I bet it would taste great with some fruit on top of that. Quick and easy and tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I give this 4 stars because it was slightly chewy. That said, this is a VERY good alternative to the high fat crusts. I did not add the cocoa powder but otherwise made it the same. Besides the texture, the crust was very good. An awesome subsitute if your trying to eat healthier. I made this with No Bake Cheesecake I from this site. YUM! P.S: i found this was FAR less chewy and held together way more if you make it at least a day in advance. It gets better over time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
yummy! I made this crust for the Crumble Apple pie...I must admit I was a little worried about how this crust would turn out since I had a 9.5" pan and had to tweak things...but it turned out great! I used lowfat vanilla yogurt and I didn't find it too hard to work into the pan, just press it with the bottom of a glass and you're good to go! Great crust, thanks for sharing, will def use again! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
It tastes good and is low-fat, but I found a few problems: it doesn't make *quite* enough for a standard 9" pie pan, it was too soft, and it became soggy after sitting in the fridge for a day. BUT I think I would use this recipe again if I were to make a pie that I know can be finished at one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I used 4 tbsp of vanilla yogurt and I did use the coco. It was great with sugar free vinilla pudding pie. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rosanna Iversen
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Made it without cocoa for a lemon meringue pie, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Tasted pretty good (I omitted the cocoa) but did not quite make enough to go up the sides completely of the pie plate, so it was a bit crumbly. As crusts go, decent, but nothing to rave about. I do like that it's healthy though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States