Healthier Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2002
I was surprised how wonderful this crust was!! I too left out the cocoa, and made this crust for a pumpkin pie. Using vanilla yogurt added a nice touch (the possibilities are endless with the flavors of yogurt!). I brought one pie made with this crust to a gathering, and everyone loved the crust, because it was different. Word of caution: I used this on a bigger pie plate (deep dish), and the dough was spread a little thin, so ended up a little on the hard and crunchy side (not my favorite). I'd add an extra few graham crackers and a bit more yogurt if making a larger pie. Crust should be fairly thick for ultimate taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I give this recipe 3 stars for taste and an extra for ingenuity and calorie-cutting. I had graham crackers so I just crushed them instead of buying crumbs (though the former is a bit more time-consuming). I will definitely be using this recipe from now on instead of buying pie crusts. A note to those who complained of the stickyness. I find as long as you wet whatever tool you're pressing the crust into the pan with (be it spoon, spatula or hands), there isn't a problem. I dip a spoon in water and then press the crust into the pan and have no problems with stickyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2000
Hurray for healthier! I made this without the cocoa powder and used flavored (soy) yogurt for a pumpkin pie. You couldn't tell. Tip: mix the yogurt in really well because it sticks to the utensil at wet spots when pressing it into pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2003
I made this crust without the cocoa and with vanilla yogurt. It turned out great and no one could believe it was actually healthier. I topped it with vanilla pudding, and I bet it would taste great with some fruit on top of that. Quick and easy and tasted great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
I give this 4 stars because it was slightly chewy. That said, this is a VERY good alternative to the high fat crusts. I did not add the cocoa powder but otherwise made it the same. Besides the texture, the crust was very good. An awesome subsitute if your trying to eat healthier. I made this with No Bake Cheesecake I from this site. YUM! P.S: i found this was FAR less chewy and held together way more if you make it at least a day in advance. It gets better over time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
yummy! I made this crust for the Crumble Apple pie...I must admit I was a little worried about how this crust would turn out since I had a 9.5" pan and had to tweak things...but it turned out great! I used lowfat vanilla yogurt and I didn't find it too hard to work into the pan, just press it with the bottom of a glass and you're good to go! Great crust, thanks for sharing, will def use again! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
It tastes good and is low-fat, but I found a few problems: it doesn't make *quite* enough for a standard 9" pie pan, it was too soft, and it became soggy after sitting in the fridge for a day. BUT I think I would use this recipe again if I were to make a pie that I know can be finished at one meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DetectiveL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2008
I used 4 tbsp of vanilla yogurt and I did use the coco. It was great with sugar free vinilla pudding pie. It's a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Made it without cocoa for a lemon meringue pie, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Tasted pretty good (I omitted the cocoa) but did not quite make enough to go up the sides completely of the pie plate, so it was a bit crumbly. As crusts go, decent, but nothing to rave about. I do like that it's healthy though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 50) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States