Healthier Graham Cracker Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2007
this doesnt taste too bad but in order to make it a "pressable" consistency I had to add way more yogurt than called for and the result was a gummy weirdness. after baking it felt like rubber to the touch. sorry, no go :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aylmer, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
Made this without the cocoa with gingerbread graham crackers for a sweet potato pie. It was very tasty and much lower in calories than regular pie crust. Will definitely make crusts this way any time I need a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2006
Loved it. One box of graham crakers made 2 crusts (as I recall). I did not add the cocoa. Much better than the flour/lard traditional pie crusts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by madcook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
Very nice crust. I used it for a pumpkin pie and it turned out great. I omitted the cocoa and sugar but added 1/2 tsp salt. I chilled the pie shell in the refrigerator before filling it. Thanks Joane for the healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Butterworth, Pulau Pinang, Malaysia
Living In: Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2005
yummy! I made this crust for the Crumble Apple pie...I must admit I was a little worried about how this crust would turn out since I had a 9.5" pan and had to tweak things...but it turned out great! I used lowfat vanilla yogurt and I didn't find it too hard to work into the pan, just press it with the bottom of a glass and you're good to go! Great crust, thanks for sharing, will def use again! ^^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2005
Tasted pretty good (I omitted the cocoa) but did not quite make enough to go up the sides completely of the pie plate, so it was a bit crumbly. As crusts go, decent, but nothing to rave about. I do like that it's healthy though! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2005
Doesn't have exactly the same taste or texture as the real thing, but if what's on top is good you really may not know the difference. An excellent substitution in most recipes, just be careful with ones that bake a long time, like real cheesecake, as it may become very hard. With recipes like that I've had luck with mostly yogurt and some olivio to the same measure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
I give this recipe 3 stars for taste and an extra for ingenuity and calorie-cutting. I had graham crackers so I just crushed them instead of buying crumbs (though the former is a bit more time-consuming). I will definitely be using this recipe from now on instead of buying pie crusts. A note to those who complained of the stickyness. I find as long as you wet whatever tool you're pressing the crust into the pan with (be it spoon, spatula or hands), there isn't a problem. I dip a spoon in water and then press the crust into the pan and have no problems with stickyness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2004
This was a little sticky, but very easy to make and an EXCELLENT substitute when you want to reduce the fat in your crust. I used it for a strawberry mousse, it was a little sweet, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2003
WONDERFUL! I just lvoed this crust, and it's healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss  Molly

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 53) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Graham Cracker Crust I

This basic graham cracker crust that works well for baked and unbaked pies.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States