Healthier Good Old Fashioned Pancakes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I used "soured" lactose-free nonfat milk and vegetable oil in this recipe. These turned out a little flat for me, even with the additional baking powder. Even so, the kids liked these just as much as "regular" pancakes. I topped these with my own homemade strawberry-raspberry jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
I don't know how much healthier these are - especially after the family soaks them in syrup and more butter. I didn't use the melted butter in the batter - instead I used 1 T. of canola oil. (Saved the butter for the top.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
As Rachel would say...YUMMO! We loved these healthier pancakes! I have always used a mix from the store. To my surprise we had no mix in the house today so I got on Allrecipes. I tweaked it just a tad. I used canola oil instead of the melted butter and I substituted half of the white flour for wheat flour. For an extra bonus I added fresh blueberries. My husband couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
I only put in a sprinkle of salt, if any. I used whole wheat white flour and add a mashed banana and/or applesauce for extra moistness, sweetness, flavor and nutrition. I omitted the butter and added vanilla. Then...my daughter said they were the best pancakes I ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
First time trying. Much better than any store bought I've ever had! I skipped the salt, used oil instead of butter and egg substitue. I sampled the first one out of the pan, and it was really hard to wait until I was finished cooking to eat the rest!!! I won't be buying mix anytime soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2012
Delicious, yummy…more please! These are the words my three children used when they were devouring these pancakes this morning. One substitute I did was for the 2 tbsp of melted butter in which was 1 mashed medium banana. We had topped the pancakes with sugar free syrup and fresh blueberries. My table of judges which are 3, 3, and 5 and tend to be the pickiest eaters for everything had absolutely loved these pancakes as opposed to the buttermilk pancake mix from a box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
Easy! I used 1 and 1/4 cups of wholewheat flour and 1/4 cup of regular flour. It was really great. Fluffy pancakes, delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I followed the recipe with the exception of adding a splash of vanilla. They had a strong flour taste but looked good. Next time I will modify them by adding cinnamon and brown sugar. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Boerne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2014
Wow! This was so much better than I expected. I forgot the sugar in the first batch, but added it in the second. It definitely needs sugar, but only 2 tsp. is just fine. Everything else I left as is. My husband liked it much better than his Krustez box mix. So light and so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arcadia, California, USA
Living In: Big Sky, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
Really good,made it for my mom and sisters. I added 1 tsp of vanilla abstract. 8 is a really good serving size for 4 people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Good Old-Fashioned Pancakes

See how to make one of our top 5 most popular recipes!

Delicious Gluten-Free Pancakes

See how to make light and fluffy pancakes without the gluten.

Fluffy Pancakes

See how to make tall, fluffy pancakes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States