Healthier Easy Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
This is a very simple sugar cookie recipe. I used slightly less sugar as someone else suggested - maybe an 1/8 cup less. The texture is great and it is a soft cookie. I had no problems rolling the dough into a ball. I put sprinkles on the cookies too. My husband loved them and they will be in his lunch bag tomorrow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ethel M. McMullen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
Turned out great. I will use 1 cup of sugar next time...a bit sweet for me personally, but a GREAT cookie. Still nice n soft and it's 4 days later!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna Sauls de Reyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Old Hickory, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2012
One of the best cookie recipes I have ever tried. I liked these better than the original recipe! Brought these to a picnic and everyone loved them. Thanks for posting :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnatus, New York, USA
Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tuxedo Park
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
The recipe worked well. No problems with rolling or dryness. I made a couple of changes: added the 1/4 of yogurt, but mine was fat free, Greek style, vanilla flavored; also omitted 1/2 cup of sugar as another reviewer suggested; encrusted in rainbow sprinkles (made them sweet but not TOO sweet - please see pix); added 1tsp almond extract instead of vanilla. This helped with that blandness someone else mentioned. I liked them very much and would definitely recommend this recipe. Oh, and also added pink food coloring to make them a little more festive for my 4 year old. If anyone would like to add food coloring to their dough, please add to the wet mixture and then add the flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
Used whole-wheat flour, 1/2 c. packed brown sugar, 1/2 c. white sugar. Instead of vanilla, substituted 1 T. matcha (green tea) powder mixed in 1 t. water and beat into egg before adding to butter mixture. Dipped tops of cookies into black sesame seeds before baking. Would add green food coloring next time because cookies were brown, but delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by fairygothmom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2013
This recipe turned out wonderfully! I substituted 1/4 cup + 2-3 teaspoons of vanilla low-fat Greek yogurt in place of the plain yogurt and they're just delightful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
Great recipe. Very soft and tasty, and great with milk or coffee. I omitted the vanilla, used only 1 cup of sugar, substituted low-fat vanilla yogurt instead of the non-fat, and used whole-wheat flour. The batter was a tad dry, so I added 2 tablespoons more of yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Me
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
I tried this recipe twice. The first time I did it, I followed one review to use just a cup of sugar and because I had no plain yogurt at that time, I used strawberry flavored yogurt. It wasn't too bad but was not appealing either. This afternoon, I tried it again and used applesauce instead of butter and used low fat vanilla yogurt this time. The dough will be too soft to handle so I used spoon to mold it and baked it for 10 mins. It was too soft so the rest of the batch was baked for at least 12 mins. I also sprinkled cinnamon sugar on top - healthier snickerdoodles. My twins loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Wichita, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2012
Delicious! They turned out beautifully! They were fluffy and light and you couldn't tell they were "healthier" =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groves, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
I really liked this recipe-- the cookies have a great soft texture. I did adjust per a few other reviewer's suggestions and used some ww flour and reduced the sugar to one cup. I also used non fat plain greek yogurt as that's what I had on hand. A keeper for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Karen's Tips for Easy Rolled Sugar Cookies

Get tips for making classic cut-out cookies.

Easy Sugar Cookies

See how to make this all-time favorite cookie.

Cracked Sugar Cookies I

These sugar cookies stay puffy and moist even when cool.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States