Healthier Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
Excellent! Tasty and moist and my kids say even better than the original version. I didn't have buttermilk (mixed 1 T lemon juice into 1 cup milk) and used all white flour and omitted pumpkin seeds and raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2014
For being healthy it sure has a lot of sugar. It turned out great. Used yogurt like another commenter suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
I added chocolate chips and an extra tsp of cinnamon, but they still came out a bit bland. The texture is light, and it's healthier, but not something I would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Mateo, California, USA
Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
I followed the recipe exactly, it will be my pumpkin bread recipe from now on!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rozdodl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Suttons Bay, Michigan, USA
Living In: Albany, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
I have made this recipe two times now ( I forgot I had made it once already). The taste is ok, but I think the bread comes out with no complexity at all-complete Wonder Bread texture. I left out the raisins and pumpkin seeds so maybe I need to add something interesting next time, but it is absolute mush. Just not a fan. Maybe I am doing something wrong-I added molasses, as I always do to my pumpkin bread, or maybe it is where I live-high altitude cooking. I need to keep looking for that perfect recipe.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2013
OUTSTANDING. Minor changes this time - used regular stick margarine and left out the salt, used non-fat plain yogurt for the buttermilk and didn't use the pumpkin seeds. Next time plan to try to use substitutes for the eggs and cut down on the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
Yummy! Decided to cut the recipe in half and used my 9x5 loaf pan. Omitted the raisins and pumpkin seeds, also replaced half of the brown sugar with white because I ran out. I'm giving this recipe five stars because it's a great healthier alternative just like the recipe states, although I prefer it a tad sweeter. This bread was delish, very moist and full of flavor! It's a keeper. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheryl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kennett Square, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I added choco chips, came out good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxford, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2012
This recipe turned out great. I added dark chocolate and subbed cranberries and walnuts for the raisins and pecans. Next time, however, I will be increasing the sugar to 2 cups next time as I found they were almost savoury instead of slightly sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
A definite 5-star recipe. Instead of buttermilk I used almond milk mixed with 1.5 tablespoons of apple cider vinegar. As I was out of raisins, I used dried cherries (currents or dried cranberries also sound like a delicious possibility). I do not like nuts or seeds in breads so I left those out. Because I did not have mini loaf pans and I wanted to bake this "like..now!" I had to use two regular-sized loaf pans. Novice bakers should know that they will need to drastically increase the baking time if they do this. Next time I am going to use fresh ginger instead of dried for that extra zip that it provides breads and muffins. I will be making this recipe, with the changes I mentioned, for Thanksgiving presents for all of my family. -Chaya
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Downeast Maine Pumpkin Bread

See how to make a simple pumpkin bread that’s always moist and delicious.

No Knead Holiday Pumpkin Bread

A shockingly easy country bread with a subtle, earthy flavor.

Holiday Pumpkin Bread

Learn how to make this classic seasonal treat--holiday pumpkin bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States