Healthier Delicious Ham and Potato Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I have always liked the original version of this recipe and I liked this too, but I don't know how much 'healthier' it is. I used about 4 large carrots and a whole smallish onion - a lot more celery than is called for. Add what ever vegetables you have available. This is one of those great comfort meals - enjoy but don't think it is that much 'healthier'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This soup turned out wonderful!! I think I used this recipe more as a guide.. Used the ham bone from my New Years ham to make a stock- covered the bone in water in a stock pot and let it simmer for about 3 hours. Then used that as my base. Added celery, onion, carrot, and potatoes- cooked. Then added roux. I also added a little garlic, salt, chicken boullion, and cayenne pepper. My first time cooking potato soup & it will definitely not be the last!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
My mom and I just made a pot of this potato soup for dinner.It is very good.I didn't have any chopped Ham so I used Hillshire Sausage instead.I used can cut green beans because I didn't have any fresh ones.The amount of vegetables were lowered because of the amount of juice.I also used less butter and flour.I added a tablespoon of corn starch.I also added some whipping cream.I seasoned to taste with salt pepper and seasoning salt.This recipe is certainly a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
This was tasty! I glanced at the recipe thinking I had everything, but was very wrong. I had to butcher it because I was out of so much. I subbed a leek for celery, shallot for onion, chicken broth for bullion/water and cornstarch for flour. I had only about 1 Tbs butter and made that work too. For being so short on some key ingredients, it turned out great! It's also good to know I could make it with much less butter and it still tasted wonderful! Next time I will be sure to have flour, otherwise I kinda like the revisions I had to make. I had to use a little more than a cup of milk but that may be due to the cornstarch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by faithirene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2013
My husband and two kids all really liked this soup. I didn't even add the milk/flour. I found that once I used a masher to mash up the potatoes, the soup was plenty thick and creamy. Also I used a spiral ham that had enough salt, so I skipped the bouillon. I added fresh dill and parsley too. So with less salt and no milk, it was even healthier/low calorie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This was delicious! My husband said it was the best potato soup he's had. We didn't add the green beans because all we had were canned beans and I didn't think that sounded very good. I will probably experiment with this a little bit- my husband wants to add peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
This soup was great for my picky family. Everyone had seconds. Good hearty soup for a winter evening. I used vegetable broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
I decided to leave out the flour and milk like cpolis said and it turned out good. It was more of a stew that way, but I expected that. The problem with doing it without flour and milk is that it is a ton of butter; next time I'll probably half it. The other problem is that there is no way you can realistically feed 8 people with as much as it makes. I would say it is closer to 4 or 6 servings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Farragut, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Followed the recipe pretty much.When doing the roux with flour & blending in the milk,it just wasn't thick enough. So I added some corn starch to thicken it up more when cooking.After adding the Roux to the Pot, I tried the soup,It was good,but I wanted to kick it up a notch.I added Sour Cream.What a Nice added flavor.I first added some to my test bowl of soup.It was so good.Then I added the Sour Cream to the whole Pot.Add a bit at a time to your liking,or not at all.It's great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lockport's Hot Dog Cart King

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lockport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
I loved it!! Made no substitutions!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Delicious Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make one of our most popular soup recipes.

How to Make Ham and Potato Soup

See how to make this hearty and satisfying soup.

Bacon and Potato Soup

A hearty winter soup with potatoes, Cheddar, and bacon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States