Healthier Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
This is a wonderful recipe! I made it yesterday morning with left-over b rice. I used 1% milk, was short of raisins so added dried cranberries to make the right amount and added a couple of shakes of cinnamon .. just like Mom used to make! Very creamy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bbbecker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Very surprised this turned out great as I usually have trouble with brown rice turning out crunchy. I think maybe the key is instead of simmering the rice like I usually do that I followed this recipe and cooked on medium-low. VERY good. I added cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2013
looks simple and will be fun to tweek at some time. I am making it now and am sure it will be wonderful - if not I will let everyone know
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherry
Home Town: Boothwyn, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe. I changed it a bit. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of cow's milk, omitted the butter entirely, and only used 1/4 cup of sugar, which was more than enough. I also left out raisins because I don't like them, and like other reviewers, I tempered the egg first with the last 1/2 cup of milk. This recipe turned out great and everyone in the house loved it. Next time I will have to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
I love it! I used honey instead of sugar and dried cherries. Yummy! !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Utica, New York, USA
Living In: Barneveld, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Yum! Made this with coconut/almond milk. Doubled the recipe but used only 1/2 cup sugar (it's def sweet enough) and omitted the raisins. Also added some cinnamon. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2013
This turned out great for me and I love that it's made using brown rice. I had currants on hand, so I used them instead of raisens. Although I think it would even be good on it's own without the fruit (if you happen to not have any and still want to make this). I also used slightly less sugar, only because I'm not big on sweet, and a dash of cinnamin and nutmeg on each serving. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Wilmington, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this today and LOVED IT. I left out the butter, cut raisins back to 3 T, and also tempered the egg before adding it into the pot so as not to have scrambled egg bits. Also, I used soy milk and cooked brown rice. Per other comments, I cut back on the sugar too. I added 2 Truvia packets instead of sugar, and found the pudding plenty sweet. A dish a cinnamon, and all was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I give this about 3.5 stars. It was honestly, just way too sweet for my taste. After making this, I believe I had made the original recipe for this rice pudding and thought exactly the same. I only had 1/2 cup of raisins, so I used that much. I still thought there were too many raisins. I was surprised the recipe did not say to temper the eggs. I decided to follow the recipe as written, and learned I was right about that. I ended up with a few egg white bits in the pudding. I also thought the pudding was slightly too thin, but thickened after it cooled. I added some cinnamon in my serving bowl and it did cut through the sweetness a tad. I guess, I will keep looking for a good but slightly healthy recipe that has the right balance of creaminess to sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious!! I doubled the recipe because I have a big family. I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup maple syrup. I omitted the raisins and butter and it still turned out so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States