Healthier Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2014
I just kinda made this with left over jasmine white rice leftover from supper. thickened up easy and quick. keep stirring. Eyed almond milk amounts, prob 2 -2!/2 cups rice. ,way less white sugar , 2 fingerfulls. a little cinnamon along with other stated ingredients. Will def try with brown rice. yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2014
Creamy and yummy. Simple ingredients that I had on hand- this was just the recipe I was looking for. I almost didn't find it, though, because of the word "healthy." I was looking for brown rice pudding, not necessarily healthy rice pudding! By the way, I recommend tempering the egg before adding it to the hot pudding- otherwise, you'll get scrambled egg bits in your pudding, of course.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by grace
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
this was my first time making rice pudding and it turned out a success! i doubled the recipe and added cinnamon and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I don't know what happened. Apparently I'm the only one who didn't like it. It just never got creamy, it never thickened. It was like milk soup with rice. It was very sweet too, but that wasn't the main issue I had with this. I really wanted to like this, as I love rice pudding and a healthier version would have been great. But I guess I'll stick with my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this rice pudding while waiting for my dinner to cook, that's how quick and easy it is. I did not have brown rice so I used jasmine and it still turned out great. Other then the rice I did not substitute or change the recipe at all but I found the cooking times to be a lot less than the recipe stated which could just be due to my stove top temp. I have eaten it warm and cold and I love it both ways! Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Loved this! I used Splenda to save calories, and I added cinnamon. It turned out to be my favorite gluten free dessert. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Yum! Made this with coconut/almond milk. Doubled the recipe but used only 1/2 cup sugar (it's def sweet enough) and omitted the raisins. Also added some cinnamon. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe. I changed it a bit. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of cow's milk, omitted the butter entirely, and only used 1/4 cup of sugar, which was more than enough. I also left out raisins because I don't like them, and like other reviewers, I tempered the egg first with the last 1/2 cup of milk. This recipe turned out great and everyone in the house loved it. Next time I will have to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this today and LOVED IT. I left out the butter, cut raisins back to 3 T, and also tempered the egg before adding it into the pot so as not to have scrambled egg bits. Also, I used soy milk and cooked brown rice. Per other comments, I cut back on the sugar too. I added 2 Truvia packets instead of sugar, and found the pudding plenty sweet. A dish a cinnamon, and all was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States