Healthier Creamy Rice Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by grace
Reviewed: May 23, 2014
this was my first time making rice pudding and it turned out a success! i doubled the recipe and added cinnamon and it's great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
I don't know what happened. Apparently I'm the only one who didn't like it. It just never got creamy, it never thickened. It was like milk soup with rice. It was very sweet too, but that wasn't the main issue I had with this. I really wanted to like this, as I love rice pudding and a healthier version would have been great. But I guess I'll stick with my usual recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
I made this rice pudding while waiting for my dinner to cook, that's how quick and easy it is. I did not have brown rice so I used jasmine and it still turned out great. Other then the rice I did not substitute or change the recipe at all but I found the cooking times to be a lot less than the recipe stated which could just be due to my stove top temp. I have eaten it warm and cold and I love it both ways! Definitely a keeper :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
Soo yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2014
Loved this! I used Splenda to save calories, and I added cinnamon. It turned out to be my favorite gluten free dessert. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
Yum! Made this with coconut/almond milk. Doubled the recipe but used only 1/2 cup sugar (it's def sweet enough) and omitted the raisins. Also added some cinnamon. Soooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2014
I loved this recipe. I changed it a bit. I used unsweetened almond milk instead of cow's milk, omitted the butter entirely, and only used 1/4 cup of sugar, which was more than enough. I also left out raisins because I don't like them, and like other reviewers, I tempered the egg first with the last 1/2 cup of milk. This recipe turned out great and everyone in the house loved it. Next time I will have to double the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2013
I made this today and LOVED IT. I left out the butter, cut raisins back to 3 T, and also tempered the egg before adding it into the pot so as not to have scrambled egg bits. Also, I used soy milk and cooked brown rice. Per other comments, I cut back on the sugar too. I added 2 Truvia packets instead of sugar, and found the pudding plenty sweet. A dish a cinnamon, and all was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2013
I give this about 3.5 stars. It was honestly, just way too sweet for my taste. After making this, I believe I had made the original recipe for this rice pudding and thought exactly the same. I only had 1/2 cup of raisins, so I used that much. I still thought there were too many raisins. I was surprised the recipe did not say to temper the eggs. I decided to follow the recipe as written, and learned I was right about that. I ended up with a few egg white bits in the pudding. I also thought the pudding was slightly too thin, but thickened after it cooled. I added some cinnamon in my serving bowl and it did cut through the sweetness a tad. I guess, I will keep looking for a good but slightly healthy recipe that has the right balance of creaminess to sweetness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2013
Delicious!! I doubled the recipe because I have a big family. I used 1/3 cup sugar and 1/3 cup maple syrup. I omitted the raisins and butter and it still turned out so yummy!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANDREA B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Rice Pudding

Learn the secret to making the creamiest ever sweet rice pudding.

Coconut Milk Rice Pudding

Watch Chef John put a few tasty twists on classic rice pudding.

Creamy Chicken and Wild Rice Soup

See how to make a simple creamy chicken soup with wild rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States