Healthier Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I almost never make major changes to a recipe before I make it "as is" first. So after making this exactly as written once (and it was very good!), these are the changes that I made to make it even more healthy. I used yukon gold potatoes (leaving peel on) because I found the russte to be a bit mealy. I used 1 Tbls butter, 1 1/2 Tbls organic EVOO (a healthier fat). I also used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk, this made it extra creamy. Just before I added the cheese to the sauce, I put in a minced clove of garlic and a couple dashes of hot sauce. The changes were made because of my families personal tastes but this is the way we make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Just decided to try this recipe tonight. Of course I didn't read it through and didn't have the 1 1/2 hours to have it cook. After I had the sliced potatoes and onions in the glass baking dish, I microwaved for 7 minutes while I made the sauce. I then baked the finished dish about 1 hour. They came out perfect. My entire family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These potatoes were wonderful. A great way to save some calories. I used instant nonfat dry milk since that is all I had on hand. If I make this dish again, I would use a little less onion and chop the onion instead of slicing the onion. I also would reserve some of the cheese for the top and sprinkle paprika for color. During the last 10-15 minutes I would uncover the potatoes so the top browns nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My husband loved this, didn't notice it was low fat at all. The only thing I changed was to omit the onions because I don't like them, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family! I used 2% milk because that's all I had. All other ingredients, bake time the same. Super creamy and delicious, this will definitely be in our regular rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My husband and I made it today for Christmas dinner. It was more than fabulous. I too used fat free milk as others did and thought it turned out just fine. I always use no-salt butter. Not too cheesy and greasy just perfect. The onions were a nice touch since the hubby LOVES onion. Two thumbs up!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made these potatoes twice over the holidays and they were a big hit! The only changes I made was that I didn't peel the potatoes and used white potatoes over russet, I mixed 1 cup light cream and 1 cup skim milk and instead of all cheddar, i used half 4 cheese Italiano (Kraft) and the other cheddar. These were awesome and were gobbled up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2013
Very Good, used my food processor to slice potatoes and grate the old cheese, the rest was easy, I salted & peppered each layer and threw in a pinch of rosemary as well in each layer. Put rosemary in the sauce also, it turned out wonderful, well worth the wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe was very good. My husband likes his potatoes plain but he commented on how much he liked the recipe. Tasty and reduced fat- thank you! No need for any changes at all!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2014
Made this for dinner and it was good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States