Healthier Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
Sounds really good I'd add chopped fresh spinach to it for an added healthy and flavorful ingredient. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Mason, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Tricia M Manns
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
Merry Christmas! I made this recipe today for Christmas. It was easy to follow, didn't take too long to prepare, and DELICIOUS! (I posted a photo before I baked it.) When I tasted it for the first time, I said, "OMG, THE POTATOES ARE AMAZING!!" (Funny thing, I ate it alongside a steamed lobster tail.) My Husband agreed with my exclamation. I told him that this recipe is going to be made more often for certain. Also, I have added it to my menu as a new, Family Tradition...it's THAT amazingly delicious! I'm enjoying some now and posted a photo of it in my bowl. Thanks so much for this AWESOME RECIPE!! Warmest regards, Tricia Manns
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tricia M Manns

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2013
Just decided to try this recipe tonight. Of course I didn't read it through and didn't have the 1 1/2 hours to have it cook. After I had the sliced potatoes and onions in the glass baking dish, I microwaved for 7 minutes while I made the sauce. I then baked the finished dish about 1 hour. They came out perfect. My entire family loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I made this vegan with Earth Balance, Daiya shreds, and soy milk. I added lots of fresh garlic instead of onions because that's what I had at home. It was great and I will definitely made this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My husband loved this, didn't notice it was low fat at all. The only thing I changed was to omit the onions because I don't like them, and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2012
This was a huge hit with my family! I used 2% milk because that's all I had. All other ingredients, bake time the same. Super creamy and delicious, this will definitely be in our regular rotation. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
My husband and I made it today for Christmas dinner. It was more than fabulous. I too used fat free milk as others did and thought it turned out just fine. I always use no-salt butter. Not too cheesy and greasy just perfect. The onions were a nice touch since the hubby LOVES onion. Two thumbs up!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2012
I made these potatoes twice over the holidays and they were a big hit! The only changes I made was that I didn't peel the potatoes and used white potatoes over russet, I mixed 1 cup light cream and 1 cup skim milk and instead of all cheddar, i used half 4 cheese Italiano (Kraft) and the other cheddar. These were awesome and were gobbled up fast!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lela
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
These potatoes were wonderful. A great way to save some calories. I used instant nonfat dry milk since that is all I had on hand. If I make this dish again, I would use a little less onion and chop the onion instead of slicing the onion. I also would reserve some of the cheese for the top and sprinkle paprika for color. During the last 10-15 minutes I would uncover the potatoes so the top browns nicely.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I almost never make major changes to a recipe before I make it "as is" first. So after making this exactly as written once (and it was very good!), these are the changes that I made to make it even more healthy. I used yukon gold potatoes (leaving peel on) because I found the russte to be a bit mealy. I used 1 Tbls butter, 1 1/2 Tbls organic EVOO (a healthier fat). I also used fat free 1/2 and 1/2 in place of the milk, this made it extra creamy. Just before I added the cheese to the sauce, I put in a minced clove of garlic and a couple dashes of hot sauce. The changes were made because of my families personal tastes but this is the way we make them all the time now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Creamy Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make the best creamy scalloped potatoes.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Potatoes Au Gratin

Learn how to make this creamy, cheesy casserole—a favorite all year long.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States