Healthier Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
My husband and I enjoyed this mac & cheese version. I used greek yogurt instead of sour cream. I would suggest to use 1/2 cup of bread crumbs it seemed to be too much topping. We plan on making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2012
This totally satisfied our craving for mac and cheese! I sprinkled in a few drops of liquid smoke and shook in some powdered mustard, omitted the butter and used less crumbs. Next time I'll toss the cheese mix into the food processor for a more uniform look (no need to see chunks of cottage cheese in the final product) ~Thanks Chuck, this one's a keeper!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gloucester, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fleming Island, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have now made this 3 times with many comments - all positive. I even gave some to a friend but didn't tell him what was in it because he doesn't like cottage cheese or sour cream. He loved the mac&cheese, then I told him the contents. He would like more!! I made exactly as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My husband and 5 yr old loved this. I used 12 oz of Ronzoni Smart Taste elbow pasta and regular Daisy sour cream. I also only used 1/4 cup of bread crumbs and sprayed the top with Pam Butter spray to omit the butter. I used the recipe builder on myfitnesspal.com and it was 485 calories/serving for 6 servings. Served with a side salad and it was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
All 4 of us liked this!!! This includes 2 teenage girls and my husband. All of us liking something doesn't happen often, so thanks for submitting it. Generally, anything called "Healthier" doesn't go over well. BUT I have been trying to get away from red meat and striving for meatless and tried this. Used regular pasta and breadcrumbs, no wheat variations. Regular cheddar cheese, no lowfat available. Definitely worth a try, if you're on the fence. Will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I was a bit skeptical when I saw the ingredients, but I wanted a healthier version of a family favorite. Not only is this recipe a healthier version of traditional mac and cheese, it's delicious! The second time I tried it I omitted the topping, reducing the calories and fat/cholesterol content even further. It wasn't missed. I also added a little bit of skim milk to make the sauce even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was delish and got great reviews from my guests. I prefer to shred my own cheddar ( do it....flavor is much better) and i added 1/2 cup a milk like the original recipe. i used crushed whole wheat ritz crackers. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because the cottage cheese gives it a weird consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Used Barilla plus (I can't digest wheat pasta) but followed the recipe exactly else as written. Had a bite before baking and thought 'egh' and was a little worried but was able to adjust for seasonings then. After baking and taking the first bite, the husband and I groaned - it's so cheesy and good. After gobbling down his portion, the husband said 'This mac and cheese is RIDICULOUS'. Perfect accompaniment (and so easy to make) for ribs or burgers with a salad. No one cheese stands out, and the hubby was even a little skeptical 'Hmm, cottage cheese, huh?' but it all worked out. I thought it was a little dry, not sure what I'd do to make it a little saucier - maybe milk like others have said? I agree with the others - the topping is good but not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this recipe today... I tripled the ingredients (to freeze for future meals) and it filled a 9 x 13 dish with enough left over for one small loaf pan... I can't see it (as is) filling a 9 x 13... unless I did something wrong...? The flavour is good... but I do not like seeing the cottage cheese "chunks"... I should have processed them first... due to those two concerns, I give this a 3 star....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Everyone loved the dish-I put the French Fried onions rings on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States