Healthier Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by amandamarie613
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
This recipe was delicious! I made a few changes. I doubled the macaroni. I took the advice from the other reviewers and blended the cottage cheese in a blender. I added 1 teaspoon salt, 1 teaspoon dry mustard, 1/4 teaspoon ground black pepper, 1/4 teaspoon Worcestershire. I reduced the bread crumbs to 1/2 cup and used Panko bread crumbs, and added only 1 Tablespoon of butter to them. Baked for 35 minutes in an 8 by 11 pan. And since I doubled the macaroni there's about half the fat per serving! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Tastes pretty good, doesn't look so good. Will put the cottage cheese and Greek yogurt (I substituted for sour cream) in the blender first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2013
I love mac and cheese but I don't make it very often because it's so high in fat and cholesterol. Both my husband and I really enjoy this recipe and I've made it several times now, always great. The yogurt and cottage cheese gives it the right texture, just pulse the cottage cheese a little longer so the lumps aren't distracting. Thank you so much for a healthy mac n' cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fullerton, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
Everyone loved the dish-I put the French Fried onions rings on top
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
Made this recipe today... I tripled the ingredients (to freeze for future meals) and it filled a 9 x 13 dish with enough left over for one small loaf pan... I can't see it (as is) filling a 9 x 13... unless I did something wrong...? The flavour is good... but I do not like seeing the cottage cheese "chunks"... I should have processed them first... due to those two concerns, I give this a 3 star....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2013
Used Barilla plus (I can't digest wheat pasta) but followed the recipe exactly else as written. Had a bite before baking and thought 'egh' and was a little worried but was able to adjust for seasonings then. After baking and taking the first bite, the husband and I groaned - it's so cheesy and good. After gobbling down his portion, the husband said 'This mac and cheese is RIDICULOUS'. Perfect accompaniment (and so easy to make) for ribs or burgers with a salad. No one cheese stands out, and the hubby was even a little skeptical 'Hmm, cottage cheese, huh?' but it all worked out. I thought it was a little dry, not sure what I'd do to make it a little saucier - maybe milk like others have said? I agree with the others - the topping is good but not needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2013
This was delish and got great reviews from my guests. I prefer to shred my own cheddar ( do it....flavor is much better) and i added 1/2 cup a milk like the original recipe. i used crushed whole wheat ritz crackers. The only reason I am not giving it 5 stars is because the cottage cheese gives it a weird consistency.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2013
I was a bit skeptical when I saw the ingredients, but I wanted a healthier version of a family favorite. Not only is this recipe a healthier version of traditional mac and cheese, it's delicious! The second time I tried it I omitted the topping, reducing the calories and fat/cholesterol content even further. It wasn't missed. I also added a little bit of skim milk to make the sauce even creamier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2013
All 4 of us liked this!!! This includes 2 teenage girls and my husband. All of us liking something doesn't happen often, so thanks for submitting it. Generally, anything called "Healthier" doesn't go over well. BUT I have been trying to get away from red meat and striving for meatless and tried this. Used regular pasta and breadcrumbs, no wheat variations. Regular cheddar cheese, no lowfat available. Definitely worth a try, if you're on the fence. Will be making this regularly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My husband and 5 yr old loved this. I used 12 oz of Ronzoni Smart Taste elbow pasta and regular Daisy sour cream. I also only used 1/4 cup of bread crumbs and sprayed the top with Pam Butter spray to omit the butter. I used the recipe builder on myfitnesspal.com and it was 485 calories/serving for 6 servings. Served with a side salad and it was awesome! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Crispy Potato Chip Mac and Cheese

See how to make no-bake mac & cheese with a crispy-crunchy top.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States