Healthier Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2014
Delicious! The family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I love this recipe, and its great for my son who has several food allergies. To simplify, I saute 2.5 -3 cups of veggies (carrots, onions, celery, peas) in 3 tbl butter. I saute 2 chicken breasts separately, and then add it to the veggies. When the veggies are tender, it mix in the flour, spices, and finally the chicken broth. Instead of cows milk I add a dash of almond milk. Cook on medium heat till thickens then pour into the pour into the pie crust and bake. Much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Add cheese to the filling right before you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janis in nyc
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Big blizzard tonight so it's a perfect night for this recipe. The very first time I've ever made one, especially made from scratch. Didn't buy the crusts, also made them from scratch. It was delicious and didn't need the heavy cream or potatoes in OTHER chicken pot pie recipes. My husband of 47 years loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My family and I love this recipe! It is one of our favorites and I make it often. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was great! It was a little under-seasoned; I think next time I'll add more salt and pepper, and maybe cauliflower (just because I like it so much). Super good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
There really isn't much difference between this and the original, which I had been meaning to make. I normally use low fat or fat free milk anyway and the minimum amount of butter so that was in line with what's suggested here. However, it's much lower in fat and calories if you get rid of some of the pie crust. I had leftover chicken so boiled the veggies in the broth; reserved the broth; added 2T butter to the veggies, stirred in the flour, and then slowly incorporated the milk; returned the broth to the pot. When this thickened, I added the chicken and peas. I poured into two 4 x 7 baking dishes and used about 3/4 of a pie crust cut into rectangles to cover. (I saved the extra scraps for another use.) This was 4 hearty servings. By making those small changes, this calculated at about 416 calories and 17g fat at 4 servings or 208 cal and 8.5g fat for 8 (as written). Healthier is subjective, but I would prefer to have more substance and less wrapping for something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States