Healthier Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I had half a roasted chicken leftover so I approached this recipe a little differently. I used 3 Tablespoons of grapeseed oil instead of the butter (a little healthier) and cooked the onion, diced carrots in the oil on medium low heat - I used 4 stalks of celery - add the celery to the onions and carrots and cooked for a couple of minutes. Add the flour, salt and pepper - stir to form a roux and then added about a cup of chicken broth, stir until it started to thicken and then added just a splash or two of milk - cook until thickened (adjust thickness after the sauce has come to a boil) I then stirred in the peas (I used more peas as I had a half a bag in the freezer) and the cubed, cooked chicken. Stir to combine. I want a thick mixture to fill the pie crust. You can add any vegetables you have on hand. If you have leftover cooked vegetables add them with the chicken. I used a basic short crust pastry recipe. The bottom crust will not be soggy if your chicken mixture is thick enough. If you want to cut out a few more calories use just a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Easy to make, very very very good!!!! Even my picky husband liked it. I actually simplified it and used canned carrot and pea mix, eliminated the celery and used pre-cooked honey baked chicken. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great recipe, Even my very picky boys loved it, they both want the leftovers for lunch tomorrow :) I didnt have celery so I left it out. I also didnt have celery seed. I used 1/2 tsp celery salt instead of the celery seed and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Loved It and so Yummy! Especially wanted recipes without the additive laden ready-made soup! This is pre-Cambell's just like Grandmother's Yummy Warm Feeling Chicken Pot Pie. We used to beg for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My family and I love this recipe! It is one of our favorites and I make it often. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by janis in nyc
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
Big blizzard tonight so it's a perfect night for this recipe. The very first time I've ever made one, especially made from scratch. Didn't buy the crusts, also made them from scratch. It was delicious and didn't need the heavy cream or potatoes in OTHER chicken pot pie recipes. My husband of 47 years loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
loved it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
Add cheese to the filling right before you bake it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2014
I love this recipe, and its great for my son who has several food allergies. To simplify, I saute 2.5 -3 cups of veggies (carrots, onions, celery, peas) in 3 tbl butter. I saute 2 chicken breasts separately, and then add it to the veggies. When the veggies are tender, it mix in the flour, spices, and finally the chicken broth. Instead of cows milk I add a dash of almond milk. Cook on medium heat till thickens then pour into the pour into the pie crust and bake. Much easier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2014
Amazing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States