Healthier Chicken Pot Pie IX Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2013
Easy to make, very very very good!!!! Even my picky husband liked it. I actually simplified it and used canned carrot and pea mix, eliminated the celery and used pre-cooked honey baked chicken. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
Great recipe, Even my very picky boys loved it, they both want the leftovers for lunch tomorrow :) I didnt have celery so I left it out. I also didnt have celery seed. I used 1/2 tsp celery salt instead of the celery seed and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My fiancee and I both really liked this chicken pot pie! We both agreed that there were too many pea's. Next time we will probably 1/2 pea's and 1/2 something else. I also couldn't find whole wheat pie crust anywhere so had to swap for the regular kind. Otherwise this recipe is really tasty and will be made again! Only wish I could of convinced my 3 year old to try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2013
I have tried and we have liked it. I do use lower sodium products, skim milk etc. and the next time I do it I will only put on a top crust. We are a retired couple and this makes two good meals for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2013
I had half a roasted chicken leftover so I approached this recipe a little differently. I used 3 Tablespoons of grapeseed oil instead of the butter (a little healthier) and cooked the onion, diced carrots in the oil on medium low heat - I used 4 stalks of celery - add the celery to the onions and carrots and cooked for a couple of minutes. Add the flour, salt and pepper - stir to form a roux and then added about a cup of chicken broth, stir until it started to thicken and then added just a splash or two of milk - cook until thickened (adjust thickness after the sauce has come to a boil) I then stirred in the peas (I used more peas as I had a half a bag in the freezer) and the cubed, cooked chicken. Stir to combine. I want a thick mixture to fill the pie crust. You can add any vegetables you have on hand. If you have leftover cooked vegetables add them with the chicken. I used a basic short crust pastry recipe. The bottom crust will not be soggy if your chicken mixture is thick enough. If you want to cut out a few more calories use just a top crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2013
Loved It and so Yummy! Especially wanted recipes without the additive laden ready-made soup! This is pre-Cambell's just like Grandmother's Yummy Warm Feeling Chicken Pot Pie. We used to beg for it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2013
very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by linda2d
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2013
There really isn't much difference between this and the original, which I had been meaning to make. I normally use low fat or fat free milk anyway and the minimum amount of butter so that was in line with what's suggested here. However, it's much lower in fat and calories if you get rid of some of the pie crust. I had leftover chicken so boiled the veggies in the broth; reserved the broth; added 2T butter to the veggies, stirred in the flour, and then slowly incorporated the milk; returned the broth to the pot. When this thickened, I added the chicken and peas. I poured into two 4 x 7 baking dishes and used about 3/4 of a pie crust cut into rectangles to cover. (I saved the extra scraps for another use.) This was 4 hearty servings. By making those small changes, this calculated at about 416 calories and 17g fat at 4 servings or 208 cal and 8.5g fat for 8 (as written). Healthier is subjective, but I would prefer to have more substance and less wrapping for something like this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by linda2d

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
This was great! It was a little under-seasoned; I think next time I'll add more salt and pepper, and maybe cauliflower (just because I like it so much). Super good and easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2013
My family and I love this recipe! It is one of our favorites and I make it often. Thank you for such a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Chicken Pot Pie Stew

This easy, ingenious method makes delicious pot pie like a slow-simmered stew.

Chicken Pot Pie IX

See how to make a delicious one-pot meal.

Chicken Pot Pie I

This chicken pot pie tastes like you did a ton of work--but it's easy as pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States