Healthier Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love carrot cake, so I was pleased to try this "liter"version. I took it to a birthday party, and everyone really liked it. I did follow the recipe, and would continue to make with no substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I don't usually try recipes with so few reviews, but I liked the healthier aspect of this cake and took a chance, boy am I glad I did! I made this for my young boys and I (hubby won't eat carrot cake) so I halved the recipe...also I skipped the icing, although it sounds delicious. This cake was so good! Perfect sweetness, perfect flavor. I did use half white sugar, and half brown sugar because I wanted a little molasses flavor, but that was all I changed. Without the icing it's a healther little snack cake, and I will make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I only used 1 cup of sugar. It came out moist with a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! I don't like cakes that are over sweet and I did tweek it a bit, but it was great! Instead of oil I used 1 cup applesauce, and only 1 cup sugar, and I put walnuts instead of pecans. I also nixed the frosting, since I'm not a big icing person. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I've tried original Carrot Cake III and 4/5 ppl testing it were ", is this US recipe? Its too sugar in it, can't taste anything else"... so I'll try this one for the final birthday cake. I just wonder if there is enough topping with 1/2 of sugar added?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I used 2 c. all purpose flour instead and it turned out great. I made it in 2x 8-in round pans rather than a 9x13 and baked for 40 minutes. The cake was moist and the frosting was fantastic! The only thing I'd change next time is decreasing the cinnamon from 2 tsp. to 1 1/2 tsp. because it had a little too much spice flavor for out taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I reduced sugar to a total of 1 cup....1/2 brown and 1/2 white. Also, I reduced oil to 1/4 cup and added applesauce. With the adjustments, this cake is "fabulous"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Excellent! Used 1/2 cup applesauce. 1/2 whole wheat & 1/2 all- purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiran
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Awesome recipe for an easy cake. I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I used plain whole wheat flour and for the icing I substituted the butter for coconut oil. Turned out to the same traditional carrot cake flavour. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My husband said this was the best carrot cake he had ever had. My daughter and I swapped out half a cup of oil for half a cup of apple sauce to reduce the fat content making this even healthier. Easy to make and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Carrot Cake III

See how to make a simple, moist, and yummy carrot cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States