Healthier Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2012
I love carrot cake, so I was pleased to try this "liter"version. I took it to a birthday party, and everyone really liked it. I did follow the recipe, and would continue to make with no substitutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2012
I don't usually try recipes with so few reviews, but I liked the healthier aspect of this cake and took a chance, boy am I glad I did! I made this for my young boys and I (hubby won't eat carrot cake) so I halved the recipe...also I skipped the icing, although it sounds delicious. This cake was so good! Perfect sweetness, perfect flavor. I did use half white sugar, and half brown sugar because I wanted a little molasses flavor, but that was all I changed. Without the icing it's a healther little snack cake, and I will make it again for sure! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is a fantastic recipe! I only used 1 cup of sugar. It came out moist with a great flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I used 2 c. all purpose flour instead and it turned out great. I made it in 2x 8-in round pans rather than a 9x13 and baked for 40 minutes. The cake was moist and the frosting was fantastic! The only thing I'd change next time is decreasing the cinnamon from 2 tsp. to 1 1/2 tsp. because it had a little too much spice flavor for out taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! I don't like cakes that are over sweet and I did tweek it a bit, but it was great! Instead of oil I used 1 cup applesauce, and only 1 cup sugar, and I put walnuts instead of pecans. I also nixed the frosting, since I'm not a big icing person. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aindrea McHone Griffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
I've tried original Carrot Cake III and 4/5 ppl testing it were ", is this US recipe? Its too sugar in it, can't taste anything else"... so I'll try this one for the final birthday cake. I just wonder if there is enough topping with 1/2 of sugar added?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I reduced sugar to a total of 1 cup....1/2 brown and 1/2 white. Also, I reduced oil to 1/4 cup and added applesauce. With the adjustments, this cake is "fabulous"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious. I substituted coconut for the nuts, because I had it, not the ,on hands. I used plain flower not whole wheat flower. I also substituted a basic white icing instead of the icing provided. Easy to follow recipe. It would be nice if there was a sub heading for the icing. It tasted very light, carroty, and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Excellent! Used 1/2 cup applesauce. 1/2 whole wheat & 1/2 all- purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiran
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Awesome recipe for an easy cake. I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I used plain whole wheat flour and for the icing I substituted the butter for coconut oil. Turned out to the same traditional carrot cake flavour. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States