Healthier Carrot Cake III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2014
Delicious. I substituted coconut for the nuts, because I had it, not the ,on hands. I used plain flower not whole wheat flower. I also substituted a basic white icing instead of the icing provided. Easy to follow recipe. It would be nice if there was a sub heading for the icing. It tasted very light, carroty, and sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
My family loves this recipe! It's great as-is, though we usually sub 1/4 cup butter for some of the oil, add a little (1/2 cup) extra unsweetened applesauce beyond the 3/4 cup butter-oil combo, and use anywhere from 3-4 cups carrot. Excellent every time when baked 35-40 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
Amazingg... did exactly as told ad it came out super super moist and perfectly sugared! Will def make again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JenSang
Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2014
Taste great! The only changes i made were I used half whole wheat flour and half almond flour/meal and I used coconut oil. Baked for 30 minutes and it came out moist. My first carrot cake made from scratch. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2014
I reduced sugar to a total of 1 cup....1/2 brown and 1/2 white. Also, I reduced oil to 1/4 cup and added applesauce. With the adjustments, this cake is "fabulous"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2014
Excellent! Used 1/2 cup applesauce. 1/2 whole wheat & 1/2 all- purpose flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kiran
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
Awesome recipe for an easy cake. I didn't have whole wheat pastry flour so I used plain whole wheat flour and for the icing I substituted the butter for coconut oil. Turned out to the same traditional carrot cake flavour. My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
My husband said this was the best carrot cake he had ever had. My daughter and I swapped out half a cup of oil for half a cup of apple sauce to reduce the fat content making this even healthier. Easy to make and really delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I didn't care that this recipe was supposed to be healthier, I just wanted a recipe without pineapple! I used all purpose flour, and half brown sugar and half white sugar. I also substituted in a bit of nutmeg and allspice along with the cinnamon (I used a 1/4 tsp each). This was a delicious cake with a nice balance of carrot and spice flavors. Will make again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
Wonderful Recipe! I don't like cakes that are over sweet and I did tweek it a bit, but it was great! Instead of oil I used 1 cup applesauce, and only 1 cup sugar, and I put walnuts instead of pecans. I also nixed the frosting, since I'm not a big icing person. Turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aindrea McHone Griffin

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fairbanks, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Carrot Pancake Cake

See how to make carrot cake pancakes with cream cheese frosting.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Best Carrot Cake Ever

Make this sinfully rich carrot cake--and sit back and enjoy the compliments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States