Healthier Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe closely, only cutting back on the salt a bit and omitting the ginger. I threw in a few seasonings (onion powder, garlic powder, italian seasoning) to give it a little more flavor. I used my Perfect Meatloaf Pan to cook this meat loaf--I had to reverse the brown sugar/ketchup to the top of the meat loaf as my pan has holes in the bottom for the grease to drain. A little over an hour in the oven and fifteen minutes to rest and we were ready to go. Not bad--this was a quick meat loaf that paired well with mashed potatoes and was nice and firm for sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used panko breadcrumbs 1 1/2 cups it worked perfectly. I forgot to grease the pan before putting in meatloaf but I solved it by dripping evoo all around the pan between meatloaf and the sides and it worked like a charm!! Didn't burn at all in my small oven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by William Parr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This turned out so yummy! I only had about half the breadcrumbs on hand and didn't have any ginger but otherwise followed the recipe, it turned out fantastic! At the end I melted a bit of mozza on top and it was great! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My whole family LOVED this recipe. I put the ketchup/brown sugar mix on top, and used slightly less salt but otherwise did it the same and it was perfect! Tender, soft and VERY flavorful. This will be made many times in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I really liked this meatloaf. It made a basic home-style meatloaf. It was nice that I didn't have to figure out a topping later on and it baked with the meatloaf on the bottom. My only changes were I believe the lean ground beef I had was a 2 lb package. I chose to use 1 tsp of salt instead of 1.5 tsp. I figured extra salt could be added and ketchup had plenty. The only bread crumbs I had were panko, so that is what I used. After 1 hour there was a lot of liquid on the top and the onions didn't seem fully cooked. I scraped off the extra liquid, sprayed the top with a little olive oil to crisp it up some, and put it back in the oven. It actually took a full 30 minutes longer. That was no problem, as long as it was fully cooked along with the onions. I turned it out onto a foil lined baking sheet with sides. I suggest that unless a large platter is available as it does produce some excess tomato liquid that can get messy. I got 11 1" slices, approximately, from one loaf, at 196 calories each as made above. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
Wow my husband never asks what I did to the meat loaf but he did today. I was not sure if it would be a good thing but it was. I did not use the whole wheat bread crumbs. I make a few changes to this recipe I did use cracker crumbs and a bit of oatmeal as well as some bread crumbs and added garlic to the meat mixture & to the ketchup sauce I added dried mustard & Worcestershire sauce but other than that followed the recipe. This will be my go to recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this last night, added some chopped red bell pepper, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. it is fantastic! We will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My husband LOVED this meatloaf and he usually is jut okay about meatloaf. The only substitution i made was using panko crumbs b/c that's all i had and adding garlic powder. threw some cut potatoes on the top to cook with the meatloaf and it was good to go. Even my 9month baby loved it! Thanks for the recipe. It's super easy and definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Loved it, used less onion and added minced squash, (zucchini or carrots would work too) to make it even more healthy. It would be great even without the brown sugar because there's lots of sugar in the ketchup, of course then it would need a new name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
To be honest, I don’t care for meatloaf so this is my family’s input. My DD loved it and gave it 5 stars. My DH said it was good and gave it 4 stars but complained that there wasn’t enough glaze which he loves, so I made extra topping in a saucepan. I sautéed the onions until transparent before adding it to the beef mixture. I also recommend using less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States