Healthier Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
I followed the recipe closely, only cutting back on the salt a bit and omitting the ginger. I threw in a few seasonings (onion powder, garlic powder, italian seasoning) to give it a little more flavor. I used my Perfect Meatloaf Pan to cook this meat loaf--I had to reverse the brown sugar/ketchup to the top of the meat loaf as my pan has holes in the bottom for the grease to drain. A little over an hour in the oven and fifteen minutes to rest and we were ready to go. Not bad--this was a quick meat loaf that paired well with mashed potatoes and was nice and firm for sandwiches the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
My whole family LOVED this recipe. I put the ketchup/brown sugar mix on top, and used slightly less salt but otherwise did it the same and it was perfect! Tender, soft and VERY flavorful. This will be made many times in our house. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2013
OMG, my family loves this recipe. I can't explain how good it tasted!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lancaster, California, USA
Living In: Wildomar, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2013
LOVE making this recipe, and it freezes and reheats well. Moist and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2013
This turned out so yummy! I only had about half the breadcrumbs on hand and didn't have any ginger but otherwise followed the recipe, it turned out fantastic! At the end I melted a bit of mozza on top and it was great! Will definitely make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Adrenalyne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deb C
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2013
To be honest, I don’t care for meatloaf so this is my family’s input. My DD loved it and gave it 5 stars. My DH said it was good and gave it 4 stars but complained that there wasn’t enough glaze which he loves, so I made extra topping in a saucepan. I sautéed the onions until transparent before adding it to the beef mixture. I also recommend using less salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Deb C

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peabody, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2013
Loved it, used less onion and added minced squash, (zucchini or carrots would work too) to make it even more healthy. It would be great even without the brown sugar because there's lots of sugar in the ketchup, of course then it would need a new name!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: West Chester, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2013
I used panko breadcrumbs 1 1/2 cups it worked perfectly. I forgot to grease the pan before putting in meatloaf but I solved it by dripping evoo all around the pan between meatloaf and the sides and it worked like a charm!! Didn't burn at all in my small oven! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
Delicious! I don't normally like meatloaf so this was a nice surprise. I did add garlic powder, paprika and some italian seasoning to the mix and I only had seasoned breadcrumbs on hand. The next day it was firm and not mushy. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vettle

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Made this tonight. Everyone loved it. Will use this recipe from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

The Best Meatloaf I've Ever Made

Discover the simple secrets to amazing, beefy meatloaf.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States