Healthier Brown Sugar Meatloaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 12, 2015
This was my first time making meatloaf for my husband and I. It was not bad at all and he even had seconds! As we ate he asked me what was all in it and when I said ketchup he sort of froze but enjoyed it. The only thing I did different was put the sauce on top and sprinkled the brown sugar over the ketchup. Pretty yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2015
I use ground turkey for beef recipes,it always comes out great too, this is a great recipe for meat loaf
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2015
This was good. I used Panko because that's what I had. I used 1 1/2 cups of panko because that's what another reviewer said was perfect but I think that was too much and I will use the suggested amount next time. I chopped the onions so much that were almost emulsified because my daughter hates onions in meatloaf.....she was none the wiser and had no idea onions were in this recipe. I'll make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TaraAnne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2015
O... M.... G!!! LOVED THIS!!! I did this with 2 packages of ground chicken instead of the beef and kept everything else the same. SO DELISH!!! And slightly healthier than this already healthy recipe. Mmmm mmmm mmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Holiday Baker
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I really liked this meatloaf. It made a basic home-style meatloaf. It was nice that I didn't have to figure out a topping later on and it baked with the meatloaf on the bottom. My only changes were I believe the lean ground beef I had was a 2 lb package. I chose to use 1 tsp of salt instead of 1.5 tsp. I figured extra salt could be added and ketchup had plenty. The only bread crumbs I had were panko, so that is what I used. After 1 hour there was a lot of liquid on the top and the onions didn't seem fully cooked. I scraped off the extra liquid, sprayed the top with a little olive oil to crisp it up some, and put it back in the oven. It actually took a full 30 minutes longer. That was no problem, as long as it was fully cooked along with the onions. I turned it out onto a foil lined baking sheet with sides. I suggest that unless a large platter is available as it does produce some excess tomato liquid that can get messy. I got 11 1" slices, approximately, from one loaf, at 196 calories each as made above. Ty
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Great recipe! I used ground turkey. Omitted the milk. Added siracha with the ketchup and brown sugar (sooo good) and used panko breadcrumbs instead of saltines (did not have saltines). Absolutely delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2014
This meatloaf is fantastic!! It was easy and very similar to the original version in flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Brandy McSprouts Couillard

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milton, Vermont, USA
Living In: Swanton, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2014
I made this last night, added some chopped red bell pepper, otherwise followed the recipe exactly. it is fantastic! We will make it again and again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2014
This is a great recipe and we loved it! Instead of using a loaf pan, I molded the meatloaf and added the ketchup on top and sprinkled the brown sugar over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sanatoga, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
My husband LOVED this meatloaf and he usually is jut okay about meatloaf. The only substitution i made was using panko crumbs b/c that's all i had and adding garlic powder. threw some cut potatoes on the top to cook with the meatloaf and it was good to go. Even my 9month baby loved it! Thanks for the recipe. It's super easy and definitely a keeper for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Queens, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Brown Sugar Meatloaf

See how to make a 5-star meatloaf that’s tangy and slightly sweet.

Coco's Meatloaf

See how to make a comfort food classic, Nashville-style.

Easy Meatloaf

A simple, no-fail beef meatloaf with a tangy topping that's ready in no time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States