Healthier Banana Sour Cream Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2014
I cut the recipe in half, used oat flour instead of wheat flour, gluten free all purpose flour, 2 eggs (instead of 1 1/2), fat free sour cream, coconut sugar, grapeseed oil instead of butter, and sprinkled a mixture of cinnamon, coconut sugar, grapeseed oil, oats and gluten free flour on top. Plain yogurt can also be used instead of the sour cream to make it even healthier. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amber .T

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
I made this bread exactly as the recipe directed, choosing not to add nuts, and it is delicious!! Not too sweet, great texture. I made 2 loafs and 12 large muffins. Muffins took 45 min exactly at 300 on convection and just to note, everything rises significantly so leave room:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2012
I think this turned out JUST as good as full fat versions of banana bread I've tried before. I made a half recipe, used half vanilla yogurt, half sour cream, and I didn't have enough regular flour so I filled in the rest with more white wheat flour. I expected it to be a bit heavy that way, but it was moist and yummy anyway! Baked for 45-50 min instead of an hour. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jamie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reese, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2012
Tastes pretty good for healthy bread, however there is way too much cinnamon and it overpowers the banana flavor. This is more like spice cake than banana bread. Ill use the substitutions in a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by smviolante
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2012
Awesome Recipe! I had a bunch of browning bananas and looked everywhere for the PERFECT banana bread recipe. I finally settled on this one, because who wouldn't want the healthier version? Anyway, I did make a couple of alterations to make it even healthier by using organic pure cane sugar instead of white sugar, egg replacer, and earth balance instead of butter. I was nervous that it wouldn't bake properly, especially with the egg replacer, but everything came out delicious and creamy thanks to the sour cream. This recipe also makes a ton of bread. I ended up making 4 mini loaves (~5x3 in disposable pans) AND about 20 muffins. The loaves took about 1 hr 10 mins to bake and the muffins took just about 40-45 minutes. All in all, I will definitely come back to this recipe when I have some end-of-road bananas that need using. RECOMMENDED!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
I rated the custom version instead of the published version--whoops! I cut this recipe back by half to 16 servings and made muffins instead of one big loaf. I made this with melted margerine instead of butter and pecans instead of walnuts, I made no other changes. I did bake my muffins at 350*, they were done at exactly 20 minutes. My kids and I thought this was one of the better banana breads we've ever had. The sprinkling of cinnamon sugar on the outside was the best part.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
101 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Wow - this this healthier version even got my husband's approval! I cut this recipe in half and used two eggs. This was also a great way to use up some very ripe bananas. It came out moist, sweet and delicious - you really don't know it's low in fat. I sprayed a 9x5 baking pan with Pam for baking and then did the cinnamon-sugar dusting. I baked at 350 for a little over an hour - YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I just made it exactly to her adjustments, WOW so good! Healthier and tastes as good as the original! I recommend stirring the wet ingredients in with the flour -creates a denser bread :) yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Sour Cream Bread

Add a little sour cream for a deliciously different banana bread.

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States