Healthier Banana Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
I followed the recipe exact. I did bake my muffins at 350*, they were done in 20 minutes. I loved that this recipe used a minimal amount of sugar especially since my bananas were quite ripe and sweet enough on their own. My whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sarah Stone
Reviewed: May 19, 2012
Had the recipe not said "healthier" I doubt I could've detected the difference! Moist, and a tender crumb bursting w/ banana flavour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Stone

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2012
Loved this recipe. Instead of muffins I made 3 mini banana bread loafs. I substituted a yogurt butter blend for the butter and it came out very moist and delicious. Nice recipe for those who love that banana bread taste without so much of the guilt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I made a few changes but the basic recipe is a good start. I added 1 Tablespoon of cinnamon to the muffin mix and added 1/4 tsp to the topping mixture. I subbed applesauce for the 1/3 c butter for an even healthier muffin. I did use butter for the topping and regretted it because it soaked through the muffin and the cups were sitting in butter when I took them out of the oven. I will try applesauce for the topping next time. I will definitely make these again though. I'm trying hard to NOT eat them all right away. Thanks for sharing the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Wheaton, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2013
I made the recipe as is! It was amazing. But I didn't stop there. I added 1 tsp vanilla extract and increased the cinnamon to 1/2 tsp for the mixture. For my preference, that was better. Great recipe. Family loved it. OH, and today when I made the recipe, I added green food coloring for St. Patrick's Day. Went over big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Worcester, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Fantastic recipe! I made a few minor changes, including subbing half of the butter for 1/3 C of pureed pumpkin that I had leftover in the fridge, adding 1 tsp. cinnamon to the batter, and adding some oats to the crumb topping. Baked at 350 for 20 minutes, made 12 muffins instead of 10. Will absolutely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I read so many commenting about the butter in the recipe.. I agree using applesauce is a healthy exchange but there is nothing wrong with butter as long as it is real butter and not margarine.. Butter is a healthy fat if used correctly and not in an abundance.. I do substitute butter sometimes with other things depending on the recipe and consistency but don't be hating butter.. It is not a bad choice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2012
Best receipt I've tried so far. Used more cinnamon, and added lots of whole oats to the topping. They're gone in a day here!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2013
I make these all the time, Only change I ever made was to add a little bit of vanilla extract to it, but they taste great either way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie K

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2014
Made these and made mini loaves and foze individually. Fantastic with coffee in the morning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Pleasantville, Iowa, USA
Living In: Huntsville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States