Healthier Banana Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I had 4 black bananas to get rid of, so I made these. I added a bit of cinnamon to the batter and substituted applesauce for the eggs because my son is allergic to eggs...they came out looking beautiful and tasting even better! I love that there is butter in the recipe rather than oil - it gives them a very rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Amazing flavour, even though I didn't add the crumbs. I also realized I ran out of muffin liners so I greased the pan, but they stuck and I was left with really broken muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Tastey. My baby loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Really good! Made it with wheat flour instead and it came out great. The topping is superb. I cook for the 18 min and they come out perfect. Make sure you only use brown sugar for the topping and white sugar for the muffin. First time I made them I used both for the muffin on accident. Boys like when I add chocolate chips in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yum! These muffins are so scrumptious! I only had 3 bananas, so I substituted a cup of unsweetened applesauce for the other banana, and it worked well. I also took another reviewer's suggestion of adding extra cinnamon to the topping as well as vanilla to the batter. The flavor is superb! I will try adding a little oatmeal to the topping the next time I make them for a little more texture. Highly recommend these! I don't think they will last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I read so many commenting about the butter in the recipe.. I agree using applesauce is a healthy exchange but there is nothing wrong with butter as long as it is real butter and not margarine.. Butter is a healthy fat if used correctly and not in an abundance.. I do substitute butter sometimes with other things depending on the recipe and consistency but don't be hating butter.. It is not a bad choice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
I took a healthier approach and made a few substitutions. Stevia in place of granulated sugar, gluten free potato-rice flour in place of reg flour, coconut oil in place of butter. I also added some freshly ground peanut butter (organic no sugar added) a tsp of peanut butter extract, cinnamon, vanilla extract and baked them in mini muffin tins :) came out super moist and flavorful. My daughter loves them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
This is a "healthier" version of the very popular Banana Crumb Muffin recipe. The texture of this muffin is just slightly different than the original. I still love the original but I will make this sugar reduced version from now on. Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sherry
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
I added 1 extra banana to decrease the sugar alittle. Then for the top of the muffins I added alittle cinnamon and sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
Very light and moist. I used coconut oil in place of butter in the batter. The topping I added some pecans and a little oatmeal. Yum, Yum, Yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States