Healthier Banana Crumb Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
I didn't make the crumb topping so this is for the muffin itself. There comes a point when there's too many bananas, even in a banana muffin. It kept the center from baking properly. The muffin had a weird rubbery/eggy/spongey texture. These are the worst muffins I have ever made, even though I do my best to make healthier baked goods. Even with the amount of leavening these rose just a little. Anyway I'm not sure why this seemed to work for many others, but that was my two cents on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by J. Weir
Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2014
This was super quick and easy! I only had 3 bananas and the muffins still came out very moist. I also added approx. 1/4 -1/3 of a cup of Heath crumbles that I had left over in the pantry. This made for an excellent banana toffee carmel crumble muffin. I will definitely make these again! I was able to cook at 375 for about 20 mins, and got an excellent crunch from the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by J. Weir

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2014
I made this recipe as stated, but added 1/2 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp vanilla to the wet mixture. I forgot to add the crumb topping, and they still turned out great! I'll make them again for sure... And this time I'll remember the topping too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2014
I followed the recipe exactly ,except I used six jumbo muffin cups. I baked them 5 minutes longer. Delicious! They looked like the giant muffins you buy at your grocery bakery shop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: Liverpool, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2014
I had 4 black bananas to get rid of, so I made these. I added a bit of cinnamon to the batter and substituted applesauce for the eggs because my son is allergic to eggs...they came out looking beautiful and tasting even better! I love that there is butter in the recipe rather than oil - it gives them a very rich flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2014
Amazing flavour, even though I didn't add the crumbs. I also realized I ran out of muffin liners so I greased the pan, but they stuck and I was left with really broken muffins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2014
Tastey. My baby loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Adams, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chatham, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2014
Really good! Made it with wheat flour instead and it came out great. The topping is superb. I cook for the 18 min and they come out perfect. Make sure you only use brown sugar for the topping and white sugar for the muffin. First time I made them I used both for the muffin on accident. Boys like when I add chocolate chips in them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Torrance, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2014
Yum! These muffins are so scrumptious! I only had 3 bananas, so I substituted a cup of unsweetened applesauce for the other banana, and it worked well. I also took another reviewer's suggestion of adding extra cinnamon to the topping as well as vanilla to the batter. The flavor is superb! I will try adding a little oatmeal to the topping the next time I make them for a little more texture. Highly recommend these! I don't think they will last very long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2014
I read so many commenting about the butter in the recipe.. I agree using applesauce is a healthy exchange but there is nothing wrong with butter as long as it is real butter and not margarine.. Butter is a healthy fat if used correctly and not in an abundance.. I do substitute butter sometimes with other things depending on the recipe and consistency but don't be hating butter.. It is not a bad choice!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Crumb Muffins

The crumb topping makes these muffins extra yummy.

Banana Muffins II

See how to make simple but delicious banana muffins.

Banana Oat Muffins

These muffins are a quick, easy treat for breakfast any day.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States