Healthier Banana Banana Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2015
My coworkers loved it - I made it with whole wheat flour and again with spelt flour to help with their dietary restrictions. It was fairly dense and heavy, didn't rise too much. It's impossible to make "light & fluffy" butter and sugar when you add yogurt, it just looks brown and goopy. I suggest adding the yogurt after you've mixed the butter and sugar until it's light and fluffy. I also added some spices - 1tsp each of cinnamon/nutmeg mixed with the dry ingredients and 1-2tsp vanilla extract mixed with the wet ingredients. We folded in pecans and chocolate chips at the end too! Super delicious and got great reviews from my coworkers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2015
Loved this! Added walnuts and a little vanilla.. Just so tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2015
I did not have plain yogurt, substituted vanilla greek yogurt. My husband has celiac disease and can not have regular flour. Substituted 1 cup of gluten free flour and 1 cup of bisquik gluten free flour. Worked/tasted just as good as the regular flour. Make sure you use OVERRIPE bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2015
I used extra bananas, so turned out very moist. Overall a great recipe without white sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mamarava
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
Love it ! It's not too sweet and it's moist.. i add chocolate chips and it it turn out good !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2014
I used whole wheat flour instead and left off a quarter cup. Halved the butter and used more yogurt. Also added a cup of chopped walnuts. The bread was denser because of the whole wheat but that's how I like it. It's possible that my bananas weren't ripe enough because it seemed to need a little more sweetness. Top with a little honey and peanut butter when serving for a flavor explosion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Ebsch

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
Super good. I used whole wheat flour and a little extra banana. I also subbed plain Greek yogurt. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2014
Should have read the reviews before making! Definitely bland! Nice banana flavor and very moist. Could have used cinnamon or nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
WONDERFUL banana bread! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2014
I swear this started off healthy… but wow! I don't know what I did with this turned out wonderful! I took others advice and added wheat flour and I was also worried about what others were saying about it being too bland, so I added cinnamon, vanilla, raisins and…..Nutella!!! I didn't have brown sugar so I used regular granulated sugar, half a cup. I also didn't have an electric mixer and had to mix everything by hand. I was a little worried about the butter and yogurt together as it looked like it was separating, but you couldn't tell in the end product. 50 minutes later it was done and is moist and light not dense as others were saying. I'm really glad I added all the extra stuff because that parts of the bread that are just the bread do taste a little bland, so I'm glad I added my raisins and Nutella.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 65) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Banana Bread

With this much banana flavor, it just had to be called “banana banana.”

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States