Healthier Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: May 27, 2012
A great re-make of one of my favorites. I didn't think that the 50 Calorie per serving difference between the original and this recipe was that significant. I used Whole Wheat Pasta, only 1 cup (8 oz) of sour cream, which I stirred into the pasta before layering. I used only 3 slices of Provolone cheese. These changes knock a few more calories off and the family didn't even notice. Good stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2012
This is a great recipe that is customizable. I used vegetarian crumbles to make it meat-free, and added a thawed/drained box of frozen spinach. The provolone I thought I had turned out to be Havarti, didnt have mozzarella or sour cream, and in the interest of time and the spirit of creativity I substituted cheeses and just hoped for the best. Used the Havarti for the layer of provolone, considered yogurt but went with cottage cheese instead of cream, and used Colby instead of mozzarella. I started with sautéing onion and garlic to make the jarred sauce better, and left out the carrot. SO obviously I made a very different dish! But I layered and topped and baked as instructed and we had to stop ourselves from eating the entire pan. I plan to make this again using the same crazy cheese choices - maybe more cottage cheese this time, as it resembled ricotta. DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Huntsville, Alabama, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious, very hearty. Added some mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Simply delicious! And to think this is a healthier version of an all time favorite makes it even better. This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I added some fresh minced garlic to the ground turkey and onion. And, to the sauce I added a little red wine and some Italian seasoning to give a bit of a flavor boost. The sour cream was a nice change from the usual ricotta cheese as well as the carrot. I just eyeballed everything when layering. I covered it and baked it a little longer than 30 minutes leaving it uncovered for the last 10 minutes. Great with a fresh garden salad and warm bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this was really good!!!! thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I used rigatoni past instead of ziti. Also, I forgot to buy the provolone cheese so I just used the cheeses I had on hand, which were mozzarella and Parmesan (I used a whole 8-oz bag of mozzarella and about half of an 8-oz bag of Parmesan) and it was fabulous! I also omitted the carrots. I loved how the sour cream tasted after it was baked. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdluv1317

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
So delish!!! My kids loved it as well. We used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and fresh mozzarella. This is a new favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made this with spare ingredients I had left toward the end of the week, day before shopping day. It turned out great! Boyfriend loved it and took leftovers over my brother's house the next day - his fiancee and him loved it, as well as their sister-in-law. Even left-overs are winners. I used whole wheat penne pasta and the cheese I had left in the house - Munster instead of provolone and taco mix instead of mozzarella and it turned out fantastic, would have never guessed it wasn't originally in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. I would avoid adding the carrot unless you don't mind the crunchy texture in the sauce- I did add the carrot and even sauteed it with the onion, but it still were pretty firm. I would definitely make this again, but avoid the carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizhess
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I increased the carrot amount to two large carrots and I also threw in some fresh minced garlic, one chopped fresh zucchini and a very large chopped red bell pepper to add in more color/vegetables. My whole family LOVED this dish--my littlest ate TWO helpings! This recipe is a keeper. NOTE: This rewarms well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States