Healthier Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe. I love the fact that ground turkey was used. The cheeses and the sour cream worked well together. I will say that I didn't use fat-free sour cream though, used the real stuff. I also got a little confused when layering the items so I ended up just mixing them all together except for the last two. At the end I did add 8oz of shredding mozzarella and then sprinkled the parm on top. I listened to some others and shredded the carrots instead of slicing. I had some mushrooms that I needed to use up so I chopped up about 3-4oz of mushrooms and sauteed them with the onions and I also added 2 cloves of garlic(got to add garlic when using onions). It really was a great dish and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Excellent results! I substituted non fat cottage cheese for the sour cream and used 1-1/2 jars of sauce. I will add sliced mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
A good recipe. I cut it in half (except for the meat) and put it in an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for supper last night, but I added some red pepper and fresh mushrooms along with the turkey and onions and carrot. It was great, but it lacked something. Next time I will use some fresh garlic as well. I made 1/2 the recipie and had leftover ground turkey, so I seasoned it and made little meat balls, fried them and then added it to the meat mixture, that was a nice bonus to bite into these. Good recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is delicious and is indeed "healthier" than standard baked ziti. I have gone a step further and use whole grain pasta and my own homemade sauce where I can control the sugar, salt, and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Loved this - I don't miss the beef at all, and I love that it's healthier and has carrots snuck in. I followed the recipe to the T with the addition of 1 more carrot since the one I had was small. Threw it in into my food processor to get grated carrots (since someone said their carrots weren't cooked through). I though this would be sweeter but it wasn't. I kept eyeballing the '2 jars of sauce' and wondering if it was all needed, but it was. I undercooked the ziti by 2 minutes and I'm glad that I did. This totally filled my 9x13 which made me happy. The only thing I would do differently next time is since I used provolone slices (that's what i had on hand), I would switch up the order and put the pasta, sauce, then provolone. Used Barilla Mushroom which tasted great and added another veggie in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I added mushrooms, Italian seasoning, bell peppers, fresh garlic. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was a good spring board recipe. I made a few changes that I believe made it not only healthier than this recipe, but tastier! Rather than use plain turkey, use turkey Italian sausage. If you can find it use smoked fresh mozzarella and chunk it up and add as a layer on top of the pasta as you do your layering. Lastly, add more veggies, I added a whole broccoli stem and all chopped up along with adding a giant handful of spinach to the pasta right after it drained. I also used about 1/2 of the amount of sour cream called for since I tossed the pasta and spinach with it before I started layering. The result was a must make again baked ziti! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My picky 3 year old wouldn't touch it but my fiance and I both loved it and thought it was super tasty! Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family truly loved this (I didn't even think it was that great but was very pleased everyone else did)...my picky 5-yo even said "mom...you know how to make just what I like" I think I may have shed a happy tear. I used all Colby cheese shredded and mixed all the layers together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States