Healthier Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I really loved it - was cheesy, but tasty and easy to make a little ahead of time and then just pop into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I was a little leery of the sour cream layer, but it was GOOD! I grated the carrot in the mini food processor and never knew it was there in the finished product. I halved the recipe and misjudged the casserole dish size so I didn't get the layers just right, but it had everything in it. DH hates casseroles but he actually said, "Is this new? I think I like it." Good recipe, you must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Liked it, everyone ate it. Great for a large group too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is a good recipe (if you like ground turkey) but I have one cynical complaint. I would consider fresh red meat, i.e. ground beef, healthier than processed foods like spaghetti sauce in a jar. I guess every bit helps to make food healthier and money and time are a factor. It's expensive to buy/make non-processed sauce and ground turkey is usually the cheapest ground meat. I prefer Italian sausage and I use jarred sauce. Just being cynical and complaining about what would be healthier. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe. I love the fact that ground turkey was used. The cheeses and the sour cream worked well together. I will say that I didn't use fat-free sour cream though, used the real stuff. I also got a little confused when layering the items so I ended up just mixing them all together except for the last two. At the end I did add 8oz of shredding mozzarella and then sprinkled the parm on top. I listened to some others and shredded the carrots instead of slicing. I had some mushrooms that I needed to use up so I chopped up about 3-4oz of mushrooms and sauteed them with the onions and I also added 2 cloves of garlic(got to add garlic when using onions). It really was a great dish and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Excellent results! I substituted non fat cottage cheese for the sour cream and used 1-1/2 jars of sauce. I will add sliced mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
A good recipe. I cut it in half (except for the meat) and put it in an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for supper last night, but I added some red pepper and fresh mushrooms along with the turkey and onions and carrot. It was great, but it lacked something. Next time I will use some fresh garlic as well. I made 1/2 the recipie and had leftover ground turkey, so I seasoned it and made little meat balls, fried them and then added it to the meat mixture, that was a nice bonus to bite into these. Good recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is delicious and is indeed "healthier" than standard baked ziti. I have gone a step further and use whole grain pasta and my own homemade sauce where I can control the sugar, salt, and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Loved this - I don't miss the beef at all, and I love that it's healthier and has carrots snuck in. I followed the recipe to the T with the addition of 1 more carrot since the one I had was small. Threw it in into my food processor to get grated carrots (since someone said their carrots weren't cooked through). I though this would be sweeter but it wasn't. I kept eyeballing the '2 jars of sauce' and wondering if it was all needed, but it was. I undercooked the ziti by 2 minutes and I'm glad that I did. This totally filled my 9x13 which made me happy. The only thing I would do differently next time is since I used provolone slices (that's what i had on hand), I would switch up the order and put the pasta, sauce, then provolone. Used Barilla Mushroom which tasted great and added another veggie in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States