Healthier Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2014
I really loved it - was cheesy, but tasty and easy to make a little ahead of time and then just pop into the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2014
I was a little leery of the sour cream layer, but it was GOOD! I grated the carrot in the mini food processor and never knew it was there in the finished product. I halved the recipe and misjudged the casserole dish size so I didn't get the layers just right, but it had everything in it. DH hates casseroles but he actually said, "Is this new? I think I like it." Good recipe, you must try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kris in FL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2014
Liked it, everyone ate it. Great for a large group too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Calumet, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Yukon, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
This is a good recipe (if you like ground turkey) but I have one cynical complaint. I would consider fresh red meat, i.e. ground beef, healthier than processed foods like spaghetti sauce in a jar. I guess every bit helps to make food healthier and money and time are a factor. It's expensive to buy/make non-processed sauce and ground turkey is usually the cheapest ground meat. I prefer Italian sausage and I use jarred sauce. Just being cynical and complaining about what would be healthier. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2014
I thought this was a great recipe. I love the fact that ground turkey was used. The cheeses and the sour cream worked well together. I will say that I didn't use fat-free sour cream though, used the real stuff. I also got a little confused when layering the items so I ended up just mixing them all together except for the last two. At the end I did add 8oz of shredding mozzarella and then sprinkled the parm on top. I listened to some others and shredded the carrots instead of slicing. I had some mushrooms that I needed to use up so I chopped up about 3-4oz of mushrooms and sauteed them with the onions and I also added 2 cloves of garlic(got to add garlic when using onions). It really was a great dish and I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2014
Excellent results! I substituted non fat cottage cheese for the sour cream and used 1-1/2 jars of sauce. I will add sliced mushrooms next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMBILL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2014
A good recipe. I cut it in half (except for the meat) and put it in an 8x8 pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
I made this for supper last night, but I added some red pepper and fresh mushrooms along with the turkey and onions and carrot. It was great, but it lacked something. Next time I will use some fresh garlic as well. I made 1/2 the recipie and had leftover ground turkey, so I seasoned it and made little meat balls, fried them and then added it to the meat mixture, that was a nice bonus to bite into these. Good recipie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2014
This is delicious and is indeed "healthier" than standard baked ziti. I have gone a step further and use whole grain pasta and my own homemade sauce where I can control the sugar, salt, and seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2013
Loved this - I don't miss the beef at all, and I love that it's healthier and has carrots snuck in. I followed the recipe to the T with the addition of 1 more carrot since the one I had was small. Threw it in into my food processor to get grated carrots (since someone said their carrots weren't cooked through). I though this would be sweeter but it wasn't. I kept eyeballing the '2 jars of sauce' and wondering if it was all needed, but it was. I undercooked the ziti by 2 minutes and I'm glad that I did. This totally filled my 9x13 which made me happy. The only thing I would do differently next time is since I used provolone slices (that's what i had on hand and it kept the sauce from hitting the ziti), I would switch up the order and put the pasta, sauce, then provolone. Used Barilla Mushroom which tasted great and added another veggie in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by STARDUST_331

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Scarsdale, New York, USA
Living In: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Cool Weather Salads
Cool Weather Salads

Fall and winter salads bring bright flavors to your favorite meals.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States