Healthier Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
This recipe is awesome! I added mushrooms, Italian seasoning, bell peppers, fresh garlic. Delish!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tristan's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This was a good spring board recipe. I made a few changes that I believe made it not only healthier than this recipe, but tastier! Rather than use plain turkey, use turkey Italian sausage. If you can find it use smoked fresh mozzarella and chunk it up and add as a layer on top of the pasta as you do your layering. Lastly, add more veggies, I added a whole broccoli stem and all chopped up along with adding a giant handful of spinach to the pasta right after it drained. I also used about 1/2 of the amount of sour cream called for since I tossed the pasta and spinach with it before I started layering. The result was a must make again baked ziti! Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mountlake Terrace, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
My picky 3 year old wouldn't touch it but my fiance and I both loved it and thought it was super tasty! Definitely making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family truly loved this (I didn't even think it was that great but was very pleased everyone else did)...my picky 5-yo even said "mom...you know how to make just what I like" I think I may have shed a happy tear. I used all Colby cheese shredded and mixed all the layers together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My 4 year old and 6 year old loved this (and my husband too) and asked for seconds! Some reviewers said that the carrots were a little too crunchy so I shredded mine instead of chopping them. Turned out great that way. Also I prepared this earlier in the day when the kids were at school and refrigerated it until it was time to bake. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I increased the carrot amount to two large carrots and I also threw in some fresh minced garlic, one chopped fresh zucchini and a very large chopped red bell pepper to add in more color/vegetables. My whole family LOVED this dish--my littlest ate TWO helpings! This recipe is a keeper. NOTE: This rewarms well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. I would avoid adding the carrot unless you don't mind the crunchy texture in the sauce- I did add the carrot and even sauteed it with the onion, but it still were pretty firm. I would definitely make this again, but avoid the carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizhess
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made this with spare ingredients I had left toward the end of the week, day before shopping day. It turned out great! Boyfriend loved it and took leftovers over my brother's house the next day - his fiancee and him loved it, as well as their sister-in-law. Even left-overs are winners. I used whole wheat penne pasta and the cheese I had left in the house - Munster instead of provolone and taco mix instead of mozzarella and it turned out fantastic, would have never guessed it wasn't originally in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
So delish!!! My kids loved it as well. We used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and fresh mozzarella. This is a new favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I used rigatoni past instead of ziti. Also, I forgot to buy the provolone cheese so I just used the cheeses I had on hand, which were mozzarella and Parmesan (I used a whole 8-oz bag of mozzarella and about half of an 8-oz bag of Parmesan) and it was fabulous! I also omitted the carrots. I loved how the sour cream tasted after it was baked. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdluv1317

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States