Healthier Baked Ziti I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2013
My family truly loved this (I didn't even think it was that great but was very pleased everyone else did)...my picky 5-yo even said "mom...you know how to make just what I like" I think I may have shed a happy tear. I used all Colby cheese shredded and mixed all the layers together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
My 4 year old and 6 year old loved this (and my husband too) and asked for seconds! Some reviewers said that the carrots were a little too crunchy so I shredded mine instead of chopping them. Turned out great that way. Also I prepared this earlier in the day when the kids were at school and refrigerated it until it was time to bake. It turned out perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I increased the carrot amount to two large carrots and I also threw in some fresh minced garlic, one chopped fresh zucchini and a very large chopped red bell pepper to add in more color/vegetables. My whole family LOVED this dish--my littlest ate TWO helpings! This recipe is a keeper. NOTE: This rewarms well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
I really enjoyed the flavor of this dish. I would avoid adding the carrot unless you don't mind the crunchy texture in the sauce- I did add the carrot and even sauteed it with the onion, but it still were pretty firm. I would definitely make this again, but avoid the carrot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizhess
Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2012
I made this with spare ingredients I had left toward the end of the week, day before shopping day. It turned out great! Boyfriend loved it and took leftovers over my brother's house the next day - his fiancee and him loved it, as well as their sister-in-law. Even left-overs are winners. I used whole wheat penne pasta and the cheese I had left in the house - Munster instead of provolone and taco mix instead of mozzarella and it turned out fantastic, would have never guessed it wasn't originally in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Niagara Falls, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
So delish!!! My kids loved it as well. We used Greek yogurt instead of sour cream and fresh mozzarella. This is a new favorite in our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2012
Great recipe! I used rigatoni past instead of ziti. Also, I forgot to buy the provolone cheese so I just used the cheeses I had on hand, which were mozzarella and Parmesan (I used a whole 8-oz bag of mozzarella and about half of an 8-oz bag of Parmesan) and it was fabulous! I also omitted the carrots. I loved how the sour cream tasted after it was baked. I will definitely make this dish again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sdluv1317

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
this was really good!!!! thanks for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2012
Simply delicious! And to think this is a healthier version of an all time favorite makes it even better. This is very easy to throw together and perfect for a hearty weeknight meal. So if your're in the mood for Italian but think you don't have the time - think again. I added some fresh minced garlic to the ground turkey and onion. And, to the sauce I added a little red wine and some Italian seasoning to give a bit of a flavor boost. The sour cream was a nice change from the usual ricotta cheese as well as the carrot. I just eyeballed everything when layering. I covered it and baked it a little longer than 30 minutes leaving it uncovered for the last 10 minutes. Great with a fresh garden salad and warm bread!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2012
Delicious, very hearty. Added some mushrooms as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Ziti II

It's the simple solution to the weeknight dinner challenge.

Baked Ziti I

See how to make Colleen's five-star baked ziti.

Baked Spaghetti

A hearty baked spaghetti casserole with three kinds of cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States