Healthier Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
SOUNDS LIKE A WINNER BUT WOULD LOVE TO HAVE (GYMRATFOODIE'S RECIPE FOR THIS PIE USING THE HONEY & MOLASSES AND ESPECIALLY THE CRUST WITH ALMOND MEAL AND COCONUT FLOUR AS I AM GLUTEN FREE AND TRYING TO LEARN HOW TO COOK GREAT RECIPES DIFFERENTLY AND YET TASTE REALLY GREAT ALSO. GRAMMIE B
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
was great and easy, i have made it multiple times and always a success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
We really liked this pie and it didn't seem to make a taste difference that it was less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is the only way I make apple pie now! I pile the apples high and pour the sauce before it becomes a paste so it spreads evenly over all the apples. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I did something wrong - my butter, flour , sugar, water, went fairly solid - more like a paste - I couldn't pour it - had to pack it over top of apples. Sure hope it works.... Did I let it heat too long on the stove???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
To make it even more healthy, I eliminated the white processed sugar and replaced it with raw unfiltered honey and a tiny bit of organic molasses. I also made my own crust with almond meal and coconut oil and replaced the white processed flour with organic coconut flour. Much more healthy and you'd never know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My family raved about it!! Very easy and delicious with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I,m curious to know how many people got the new "allrecipes" mag. and what everyone thinks of it? I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjdelarosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was my first attempt at baking an apple pie. Although mine did not come out looking as nice as the one in the photo (I had to make pie crust from scratch for the first time so you can imagine...lol). Overall, the taste was amazing. It had a slight lemony taste (which I loved) even though I did not add any lemon. I am guessing it was the apples. I think the brown sugar made a world of difference and it made me feel a little less guilty...:p I will be making another pie soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this pie yesterday and found it to be absolutely wonderful! I made no changes to the recipe, followed it to the letter. I can't wait to have another slice with whipped cream after supper tonight. Thanks for posting this recipe! It's a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States