Healthier Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Jennifer Grattan
Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
My butter/flour/sugar/water mixture went solid. I'm not sure why. It was fairly paste-like from the beginning, when it was just flour and butter, and just never got better. I was a bit distracted at the beginning, so the flour/butter cooked a little long just on their own; maybe they got too hot? Also, I used salted butter; I know salt makes water boil faster, maybe it somehow affected this mixture too? I tried simmering it for a really long time hoping that maybe at some point it would liquefy, but no luck, so don't bother trying that if this happens to you. Anyway, I had used a mix of Golden Delicious and Gala apples, and I'd already put the lattice crust on, so I just glopped the caramel stuff on top. It didn't melt and drip down into the pie as I'd hoped, it just stayed on top. When the pie was done cooking, I carefully tipped it to the side and drained off the apple juice (since the caramel didn't go down into the pie, there was nothing to help the juice set up and be anything but watery). The pie cooled overnight and was delicious the next morning (my 4-year-old wanted apple pie for his birthday breakfast). You have to choose your bites carefully, but as long as a bit of the caramel top is in each bite, you're fine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Grattan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
was great and easy, i have made it multiple times and always a success
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
We really liked this pie and it didn't seem to make a taste difference that it was less sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is the only way I make apple pie now! I pile the apples high and pour the sauce before it becomes a paste so it spreads evenly over all the apples. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I did something wrong - my butter, flour , sugar, water, went fairly solid - more like a paste - I couldn't pour it - had to pack it over top of apples. Sure hope it works.... Did I let it heat too long on the stove???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
To make it even more healthy, I eliminated the white processed sugar and replaced it with raw unfiltered honey and a tiny bit of organic molasses. I also made my own crust with almond meal and coconut oil and replaced the white processed flour with organic coconut flour. Much more healthy and you'd never know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My family raved about it!! Very easy and delicious with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I,m curious to know how many people got the new "allrecipes" mag. and what everyone thinks of it? I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjdelarosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was my first attempt at baking an apple pie. Although mine did not come out looking as nice as the one in the photo (I had to make pie crust from scratch for the first time so you can imagine...lol). Overall, the taste was amazing. It had a slight lemony taste (which I loved) even though I did not add any lemon. I am guessing it was the apples. I think the brown sugar made a world of difference and it made me feel a little less guilty...:p I will be making another pie soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this pie yesterday and found it to be absolutely wonderful! I made no changes to the recipe, followed it to the letter. I can't wait to have another slice with whipped cream after supper tonight. Thanks for posting this recipe! It's a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Apple Slab Pie

Apple pie baked in a rectangular pan with a crumble topping.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States