Healthier Apple Pie by Grandma Ople Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Rosaitalia
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2012
This is the first time I ever made a pie. I look for recipes with a few ingredients and simple directions; this fit the criteria, so I gave it a try. It was great tasting. My husband, a pie lover, said it was great. I was able to use only one pie crust as my recipe for crusts was ample enough to use the scraps and reform them to apply the lattice strips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
THE.BEST.PIE.EVER. I've made both the original recipe and this healthier version, and for my taste, this one wins the contest. I can't imagine anyone rating these pies less than 5 stars. You just can't mess them up. Thank you Grandma Ople!! One alteration that made it a tad healthier, still, is I made a whole wheat pie crust. (Recipe: 3/4cup butter, softened; 1/3cup water; 1/4 tsp salt; 1/2 tsp sugar; 1 cup whole wheat flour; 1 cup white flour. It's meant to be 2 crusts, but I squeeze 3 out of it. Roll between 2 sheets of wax paper. Super easy.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by roozoonoomom

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Easy pie with great results. My teenage daughter made the sauce, and with pre-made pie crust and Granny Smith apples it made a wonderful pie. We took the liberty of putting a 1/4 tsp. cinnamon in the sauce because we are all fond of a touch of cinnamon in our cooked apples. Everyone loved it with a small scoop of vanilla ice cream. Just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
I made this pie yesterday and found it to be absolutely wonderful! I made no changes to the recipe, followed it to the letter. I can't wait to have another slice with whipped cream after supper tonight. Thanks for posting this recipe! It's a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2013
This was my first attempt at baking an apple pie. Although mine did not come out looking as nice as the one in the photo (I had to make pie crust from scratch for the first time so you can imagine...lol). Overall, the taste was amazing. It had a slight lemony taste (which I loved) even though I did not add any lemon. I am guessing it was the apples. I think the brown sugar made a world of difference and it made me feel a little less guilty...:p I will be making another pie soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2013
I haven't tried this recipe yet, but I,m curious to know how many people got the new "allrecipes" mag. and what everyone thinks of it? I love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pjdelarosa

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Reno, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
My family raved about it!! Very easy and delicious with a big scoop of vanilla ice cream
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
To make it even more healthy, I eliminated the white processed sugar and replaced it with raw unfiltered honey and a tiny bit of organic molasses. I also made my own crust with almond meal and coconut oil and replaced the white processed flour with organic coconut flour. Much more healthy and you'd never know the difference!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I did something wrong - my butter, flour , sugar, water, went fairly solid - more like a paste - I couldn't pour it - had to pack it over top of apples. Sure hope it works.... Did I let it heat too long on the stove???
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2013
This is the only way I make apple pie now! I pile the apples high and pour the sauce before it becomes a paste so it spreads evenly over all the apples. My family loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Easy Classic Apple Pie

See how to make a simple apple pie with a flaky, golden-brown crust.

Chef John's Caramel Apple Pie

Learn how to make Chef John’s favorite apple pie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States