Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2012
These are good... no doubt, but I wouldn't call this a 5 star recipe. I made them 6 days ago and there are still 2 left (in our house, that says a lot). On the upside, they keep very well in the refrigerator. I will probably make these again as lunch snacks for my kids.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2012
I didn't have any wheat germ, so I added 1/8 cup more oats and 1/8 cup more oat bran. Instead of the 3/4 cup white sugar, I used 1/2 cup brown sugar (packed). I omitted the nuts, and instead of a banana (cause I had none) I added 1/2 cup applesauce. I also just added a bit of vinegar to the milk instead of buttermilk and used olive oil instead of vegetable oil. I hadn't realized I was out of eggs until I had already started making these so I just added a bit of water to the mix. I also used saskatoons instead of blueberries. I guess as I am writing this I am realizing how much I did change the recipe. ( i usually don't leave reviews when I've made so many drastic changes). But if you are looking for a versatile recipe....HERE IT IS! They turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Meadow Lake, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Millet, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2012
Such a great recipe and so versatile! I am not a cupcake or muffin baker, but this recipe was a breeze. I forgot the wheat germ on my first attempt and they turned out fine. I took this initial batch on a camping trip with my bf's family. They're still acclimating themselves to my healthier/vegetarian cooking style and a bit hesitant at times to try my fare. I can proudly say they gobbled them up! His mother took the leftovers home and asked for the recipe too :) I used cranberries and pecans the second time around and they were just as wonderful. I plan on using different nut & fruit combinations each time. I freeze a batch at a time, thaw 1 or 2 overnight, pop them in the microwave in the AM and enjoy my relatively guilt free breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melmeow79

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Blue Island, Illinois, USA
Living In: Joliet, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
These muffins are amazing! It took me a while to find the oat bran in the grocery store (organic food aisle in Kroger btw), but the muffins were simple to make, healthy, and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenia Cato

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe that contains so many "good" healthy ingredients and yet is very low fat and still manages to stay so moist and lovely. I found it when searching for a recipe for blueberries and was very impressed! This will be a recipe I use over and over again. I made this recipe exactly as stated but I am certain it would work with other diced fruit equally as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crosse, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This is very very good!! The whole family loves it. Perfect for a summer breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Instead of white sugar, I use a raw sugar & sucralose 1/2 c raw & 1/4 c sucralose, grind old fashioned oats and make a flour and use only 1/4 c of A/P flour and the rest white whole wheat and oat flour to get your 1-1/2 cups, use applesauce & 1 tsp coconut oil instead of veg. oil. The taste is phenomenal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gardengal68

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Melrose Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
This is, by far, the best of the "healthy" blueberry muffin recipes! I added pumpkin spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2012
I whipped these up to use up some blueberries and they were great. I didn't have oat bran and I added 2 tbsp light brown sugar and some cinnamon. Would definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2012
These were really good. I used "all bran," frozen mixed berries, and flax seed... so totally just added whatever seemed right and they still turned out really good. I did have to cook them for closer to 25 minutes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 628) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States