Health Nut Blueberry Muffins Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2012
A really nice muffin, but a bit sweet. I think I will cut the sugar to 1/2 cup next time. Used dried blueberries because I cannot get fresh or frozen where I live. Also had to use all rolled oats in place of the wheat germ, etc. Served them warm on Christmas morning and they were actually better a few hours later. Also used pecans (preference) and felt the nuts really added to the taste/texture. (Kept the rest of the recipe the same.) A definite keeper. Plan to try them today with dried cherries & almonds. Update: The second time I made these, the banana was riper and a bit bigger than the first attempt. I would recommend using a small to med banana that is not overly ripe or else these taste like banana muffins with fruit bits. Half-cup sugar was fine, however.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2012
These are my husband's favorite muffins of all time! Extremely healthy without tasting like it. I substitute egg whites for the eggs, applesauce for the oil, and 1/2 cup (or less) Blue Agave syrup for the sugar. I brush warm honey on the tops after they are out of the oven. They freeze beautifully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2012
yummy. no oil, sub sour cream. Add cinnamon, all spice and nutmeg
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2012
Amazing muffins! I added the spices that the most helpful reviewer suggested. Look forward to making them again... I used frozen blueberries, and if you don't want your batter turning blue, add the berries after all the ingredients are mixed. I put my in when I was mixing all the ingredient together and it turned my batter purple. :P
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2012
Awesome! My 9 yr old loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
I made these muffins last night. I love the taste! I didn't alter the receipe like I read in some reviews. Maybe I'll try to alter next time. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
The whole family loved these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2012
This is a very, very, very good muffin - moist, not too sweet but sweet enough, substantial but not too heavy. I have been looking for a very long time to replace a healthy blueberry muffin recipe that I accidentally threw away and this one is great. It's easy to substitute ingredients and I don't feel like I am giving up anything by eating this healthier choice. I also love the tip of adding the blueberries to the dry ingredients, eliminating the "bleeding" that happens when adding blueberries to the wet batter. I didn't have oat bran so I added more oats and ground flax seed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
I absolutely love these muffins! The only change I've made is to use 1 cup whole wheat flour and 1/2 cup all-purpose flour (and that's mostly because I'm lazy and don't own a 3/4 cup measure).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
I followed the recipe but replaced the banana with 1/2 cup of apple sauce (I didn't have any ripe ones to use). I also added a little cinnamon and nutmeg. The muffins came out great. They were moist and not dry. I did have to bake them for 20 minutes before they were done. I will keep making this, they tasted great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Cary, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 633) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Blueberry Muffins

See how to make simple, delicious blueberry muffins.

To Die For Blueberry Muffins

See how to make big bakery-style blueberry muffins!

Low-Fat Blueberry Bran Muffins

These muffins are so moist and flavorful, you won't believe they're healthy, too!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States